The University of Arizona Library
Research by SUBJECT: Political Science and Government

Gov't Docs HOME

 

How to Effectively Locate Federal Information on the WWW: 
Know the Structure to Find the Information

 

One of the keys to finding federal government information on the World Wide Web is understanding the organizational structure of the government. The Constitution of the United States establishes three separate branches of government: Legislative, Judicial, and Executive. In addition to these three branches, there is a fourth category: Independent Establishments and Government Corporations. All of these bodies of government maintain a presence on the Web.

URLs or WWW addresses of federal agencies are usually based on the name of the particular agency. For example, the address of the Small Business Administration is www.sba.gov. This makes it easy to surmise the www address of federal agencies.

The linked graphic represents the organizational structure of the Federal Government. The various bodies are hot linked to their WWW pages. All of the Executive Branch agencies provide links to various bureaus and sub-agencies. For example, the Department of Commerce WWW page will link to the U.S. Census Bureau's web page. Explore and see if you can find answers to the questions at the bottom of the linked page.

Resources to Know

 

Documents by Agency or Topic

  • Government Printing Office
  • GPO Access 
    An official site of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to a wealth of information produced by the Federal Government. It is the direct result of the Government Printing Office Electronic Information Enhancement Act of 1993. GPO Access links to numerous finding aids such as the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, Agency Publications Indexes, and Agency Internet Sites, Online Databases, Depository Libraries and much more.
  • The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
    Indexes print and electronic information from all Federal Agencies since 1994 and contains authoritative bibliographic records for these items. This resource will help to identify materials distributed to Federal Depository Libraries and to locate library holdings. For earlier publications the print index should be consulted.
  • GovSpot
  • American Factfinder (U.S. Census)

 

Locating Depository Libraries

 

Documents by Keyword


Government Social and Statistical Resources

A Century of Law Making for A New nations: US Congressional Documents and Debates - A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1873

American FactFinder - A source for population, housing, economic and geographic data. Tables and maps of Census 2000 data for all geographies to the block level.

Compilation of federal Education Laws - The United States House of Representatives Committee on Education and the Workforce website that contains a compilation of Federal Government education laws. At least some of the links lead to .pdf files and there is a link on this page for assistance in using those.
US House of Representatives, Committee on Education and Workforce.

The United States House of Representatives Committee on Education and the Workforce has a website that contains a compilation of Federal Government education laws. At least some of the links lead to .pdf files and there is a link on this page for assistance in using those.

Oklahoma State University Library - Documents Department - a good site with a search engine to some full-text documents from various agencies

Core Documents of US Democracy - Includes Cornerstone Documents, Congressional, Presidential, Judicial, Federal rules and regulations, Demographic, Economic and Miscellaneous documents such as Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, Freedom Papers and the United States Government Manual

ThisNation - Comprehensive guide to American Government and Politics on the net

World Factbook - The Factbook is an annual publication of CIA. In general, information available as of
1 January 2002 was used in the preparation of The World Factbook 2002. Selected data and maps are updated periodically during the coming year.

 

(Information is provided by: Suhasini Kumar, University of Toledo, Oh)

Government Scientific and Technical Information Resources

FirstGov for Science
This site is new and being made available in test mode at this time. It is slated to be officially launched in Summer 2002. It is described as a gateway to authoritative science information selected by the respective agencies as the best for scientific and technical information. It includes science web sites and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials. These sites can be searched individually or in combination from this site. A working group drawn together from 14 scientific and technical information organizations associated with 10 major science agencies developed this web site. These agencies form the science.gov Alliance created in response to a workshop on "Strengthening the Public Information Infrastructure for Science held in April 2001”.

National Library of Medicine

NLM Gateway 
Allows users to search multiple databases at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). Currently the Gateway includes access to MEDLINE/PubMed, OLDMEDLINE, LOCATORplus, MEDLINEplus, DIRLINE, AIDS Meetings, Health Services Research Meetings, Space Life Sciences Meetings and Health Services Research Projects. Clinical Trials, Images from the History of Medicine, Profiles in Science, and TOXNET are due to be added soon. This Gateway offers access to citations, full text, video, audio, and images.

Federal Commons: Science and Technology
The Federal Commons is a grants management portal serving the grantee organization community. The Science and Technology site of the Federal Commons grants portal links to various funding opportunities for science and technology from various agencies and under multiple grant topics. This site is still under development and is searchable only by different agencies and as yet not searchable by grant topic. 

Federal Agencies and Associated Databases

Department of Commerce (DOC)

GOV.Research_Center (GRC)
A partnership between the U.S. Department of Commerce’s National Technical Information Service and the National Information Services Corporation. This center provides access to reports prior to 1990 with an annual subscription or a one-day pass for a fee. 

SciTechResources.gov 
A catalog of government science and technology web sites, this comprehensive searchable site is under development to create an easy, one-stop access to key U.S. Government web resources. The Department of Commerce and the NTIS maintain this site. It includes links to key government web sites for locating computer software, government expertise, federal laboratories, information centers, inventions for licensing, online databases, sources of images and photographs, sources of publications, reports, and data, and technology transfer opportunities. This is an effort to make available to scientists, students, researchers and the general public the results of the U.S. Government's multi-billion dollar R&D effort in science and technology. A useful list of various specialized scientific web portals is included on this site at (http://www.scitechresources.gov/scitech-portals.htm)

National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
The main resource for government sponsored scientific, technical and engineering information. NTIS indexes these reports and makes them available to the public. NTIS charges a nominal fee for its publications since the law requires it to be self-supporting. NTIS provides access to millions of documents published after 1990 and it covers over 350 subject areas. (http://www.ntis.gov/search/advanced.asp

The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) 
An agency within the U.S. Commerce Department's Technology Administration. NIST 's “mission is to develop and promote measurements, standards, and technology to enhance productivity, facilitate trade and improves the quality of life.” It conducts and supports scientific and engineering research and offers more than 100 databases for the scientific, technical, and engineering communities. The NIST Data Gateway (http://srdata.nist.gov/gateway/) provides easy access to NIST Standard Reference Databases that cover a wide range of substances and properties from various scientific disciplines. The NIST Data Gateway, apart from other information, provides a list of NIST online databases with descriptions and provides online access to them. There are 26 databases at present that include Atomic Spectra databases, Chemistry Web Book, Protein Databank, and a web version of the Standard Reference Database 60. NIST produces another important set of Standards, which is known as the Federal Information Processing Standards Publications (FIPS). These standards are used by the government and are concerned with portability of data, Software, and computer security.

United States Patent Office (USPTO)
The USPTO is an agency of the Department of Commerce and its role is to grant patents as well as to protect new inventions and register trademarks. It is also responsible for the preservation, classification and dissemination of patent information. The USPTO Patent Full-Text and Full-Page Image Databases: (http://www.uspto.gov/patft/index.html) is intended for the use of the general public and there are many search options and help screens available on the site to assist the user.

Department of Defense (DOD)

The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)’s Scientific and Technical Information Network (STINET) provides the defense community access to scientific and technical information. Public STINET provides access to unclassified, unlimited citations to documents added into DTIC from late December 1974 to present. Secure STINET provides limited distribution citations from 1985 to present. It also includes limited access to unclassified full text reports from December 1999 to the present, gray literature, language translator and much more. Access to this is limited to registered users only. 

Department of Energy (DOE) 
The stated overarching mission of the Department of Energy is to enhance national security through four major program lines. One of the program lines is the science program which has as its top priority "the sponsorship of cutting-edge science & technology research and development that revolutionizes how we find, produce, and deliver energy."

EnergyPortal
maintained by the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information allows users to search across one or more of the dispersed collections listed on the EnergyPortal search page such as the Information Bridge, Energy Citations Database, PubScience, U.S. Patents database, and subject specific and multidisciplinary databases. Ten databases may be selected at one time.

GrayLIT Network
"A science portal of technical reports." GrayLIT Network is a portal for technical reports produced by federally sponsored research. This network is developed by the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) and is a joint effort of DOE/DTIC, NASA and EPA. A special search tool called the Distributed Explorer enables a search to be conducted on all of these databases simultaneously. This network enables convenient access, by the American public, to hard-to-find government information 

Energy Citations Database (1948-present)
produced by the Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) to provide access to the scientific and technical information generated by this Department. It contains bibliographic records for energy and energy related scientific and technical information.

Information Bridge (full text 1995-present)
The Information Bridge provides full-text access to the Department of Energy (DOE) research and development reports in several areas of science and technology including physics, chemistry, materials, energy technologies, biology, engineering, computer and information science and others. The Information Bridge provides access to full text documents and bibliographic data from 1995 forward electronically at no charge. 

PubScience
A database of bibliographic citations to the journal literature and reports and is a collaborative effort between participating publishers and the DOE Energy Database (EDB). PubSCIENCE addresses the information needs of researchers, students, and the public for information in the physical sciences and other energy-related disciplines. 

PrePRINT Network
Provides access to electronic preprints in science and technology from various sites. This network brings together a variety of preprint servers and resources and makes them searchable as a whole or in specific subsets. The preprints may originate from academic institutions, government research laboratories, scientific societies or private research organizations. Subject pathways are also available which allow users to not only browse the preprints by specific subject areas but also to browse preprints on sites maintained by individual scientists. There is generally no charge to access the preprints.

National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
Scientific and Technical Information (NASA/STI) The NASA Scientific and Technical Information Program Office located at Langley Research Center in Hampton, Virginia was established to support NASA’s mission and research and is dedicated to the support and advancement of aeronautics and space science. This includes responsibility for collecting, acquiring, maintaining and disseminating research results from the United States and international sources. 

NASA Technology
Features real time video of agency activities, video archives, news, and calendar or upcoming events. 

NASA Web 
May be searched using The NASA-wide Search Engine which indexes NASA's publicly available Web pages.

NASA Scientific and Technical Information (STI)
Provides access to scientific and technical holdings from many sources. It includes more than 3.5 million records of NASA reports, patents, conference proceedings, journal articles, and non-print materials, as well as other aerospace-related NASA, US, and international information. Abstracts are available for most reports and full text only for NASA material acquired since 1995. There is a fee for searching the entire database. STI online images are entered into the NASA Image eXchange (NIX).

One component of the STI program is the NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS). The NASA Technical Report Server offers a unified interface to search the many different technical report servers of various NASA centers and programs. It is an experimental service that is open to the public free of charge. The NTRS also includes access to the NASA Center for AeroSpace Information (CASI) Technical Report Server

NASA/STI/Scientific and Technical Aerospace Reports (STAR) is a resource that lists citations with abstracts for aerospace related reports. It covers all aspects of aeronautics and space research and development and is classified under 10 major subject divisions. It includes a subject and an author index. 

National Science Foundation (NSF) 
An independent agency of the U.S. Government. The National Science Foundation’s mission is to promote the progress of science, to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare, and to secure the national defense. The NSF initiates, supports, and strengthens scientific and engineering research and education through various initiatives, grants, awards, graduate and postgraduate fellowships to educational institutions in the United States. There are guides and general information available on the site.

 

 

 

UA Government Documents homepage
Political Science & Government Subject Guide | Political Science & Public Policy
SABIO Information Gateway

GPO Depository logo

About the UA Library's Government Documents repositories
UA Government Documents Collection Development Policy

 

 

Please send comments and link suggestions to:
Atifa R. Rawan, rawana@u.library.arizona.edu
University of Arizona Main Library, A207
1510 E. University, Tucson, AZ 85720

Designed by Lisa Waite Bunker
©2002 Arizona Board of Regents. All rights reserved.
Last updated March 17, 2005