| |
The University of Arizona Library is dedicated to meeting the diverse information, curricular
and research needs of students, faculty, staff and other customers.
In an environment of free and open inquiry and with a commitment to
excellence, the Library participates in the scholarly communication
process to promote lifelong learning skills and continuous educational
achievement.
The University of Arizona
Library collection development policy stresses electronic access to information resources that support
the curriculum, research, and service needs of the faculty, students,
and university community (our primary users), as well as those of Arizona
residents and others.
The Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) was established
by Congress to ensure that the American public has access to its Governments
information (Title 44, United States Code, Chapter 19). For more than
140 years, depository libraries have supported the public's right to
Government information by collecting, organizing, and preserving it,
and by providing assistance to users. (http://www.access.gpo.gov/su_docs/fdlp/pubs/instructions/in_intro.html)
The
collection supports the curroculum and research in all areas, from the
undergraduate level to the doctoral level.
The
federal depository program provides access and service to the community
and public as required by law (44 U.S. Code). The University of Arizona Library is a selective federal depository library. The primary
users of the federal depository are the residents of the 7th and 8th Congressional
Districts, and the students, faculty and staff of the University of Arizona. Other depository libraries in the area are; the Tucson/Pima
Public Library and The University of Arizona Law Library. The collection
is maintained in accordance with the guidelines and requirements as
set forth in the "Instructions to Depository Libraries" (most recent
revision July 2000).
GENERAL
BACKGROUND
The University of Arizona Library has participated in the Federal Depository Library Program,
administered by the US Government Printing Office (GPO) since 1907.
Between 1963 and 1987 it operated as a regional depository library,
acquiring and retaining virtually all publications made available for
distribution by the GPO.
Space constraints forced the Library to drop regional status in the
summer of 1987. At that time the Library reduced its depository selections
to 91% of the item number categories distributed by GPO, and began to
weed outdated materials. After the Library's reorganization in
1993, the former Government Documents Department emerged as a work
team within the Library's Technical Services and
Archival Processing Team (TSAP). The work team's first major strategic
project was to conduct a zero-base review of the Library’s depository
item selections. This review was completed in November of 1995
and resulted in an item selection ratio of approximately 43%.
The following types of materials were targeted for de-selection:
ephemeral publications such as newsletters, fact sheet, briefs, etc.;
transmittal publications; serial titles of which no issues had been
received during the past five years; serial publications which had an
erratic distribution history, including random receipt between paper
and microfiche format; and monographic series in which the majority
of publications distributed were considered of little or no lasting
research value. Many otherwise useful serial titles were dropped
because they had been converted to microfiche format for library
distribution. In these cases (most of which emanated from the
National Climatic Data Center, the Energy Information Administration,
the Bureau of Mines, and the Bureau of Labor Statistics), TSAP/Docs
now receives non-depository copies directly from the issuing
agency.
Great care was taken during the review not to reduce acquisitions in
historically strong areas of the federal depository collection.
Item numbers comprising congressional and statistical publications,
for instance, were left intact. Agencies incurring extensive de-selection
included those within the Departments of Defense, Health and Human Services,
and Transportation. In the 1998-1999 selection cycle, we increased our
selection slightly. For example, we have reexamined agencies such as
Defense, Health Services, and Transportation and have added some items
back into our profile to support our customers' needs. Government documents
technical services processing is part of Serials Receiving and Processing
within Technical Services Team.
In September
2003, we agreed to become a pilot virtual depository library for GPO
and our selection profile increased to 59%. Majority of the increased
items in the profile were in e-format.
COLLECTION MANAGEMENT
The Library's depository collection
is maintained in accordance with the guidelines set out in the Instructions
to Depository Libraries. All tangible documents are clearly marked with the depository property
stamp, shipping list date, and the SuDoc number. Superseded documents
are withdrawn. Other documents may be reviewed for retention after five
years. Collection review is an ongoing process.
Since 1987 and especially
after the reorganization, the UAL’s federal depository collection
has been subject to the types of development practices routinely conducted
in other areas of the Library. During the time the Library functioned
as a regional depository, virtually no materials were weeded, item numbers
could not be deselected and newly established item numbers were automatically
added to the Library's list of selections.
Following relinquishment of regional status in 1987, the head document
librarian's discretion was relied upon almost exclusively for decisions
regarding weeding, de-selection, and adding new item numbers.
Expertise beyond the Government Documents Department was rarely sought,
except with regard to sheet map acquisitions. Prior to reorganization,
however, responsibility for acquiring non-depository as well as depository
publications fell to the three librarians with the Government Documents
Department, and substantial resources were devoted to maintaining comprehensive
commercial microfiche sets of congressional and statistical publications
to complement the Library’s depository collections in these areas.
Subsequent to reorganization, responsibility for acquiring depository
federal documents has been delegated among the Information Resource
Managers. After the zero-base review of item selections was completed
in 1996, responsibility for acquiring depository as well as non-depository
materials was delegated to Information Resource Managers. Just
as each Information Resource Manager is responsible for collection development
in specific portions of the Library of Congress classification schedule,
so will individual Information Resource Managers be responsible for
collection development in certain parts of the Superintendent of Documents
(SuDoc) classification schedule. Recommended assignments of SuDoc
classes to the various integrated services teams are listed in appendix
A to the report.
COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT ACTIVITIES
1. Collection Scope and Selection Standards
Subject strengths include
congressional and executive historical materials, economics, agriculture,
energy, health, water, American Indians, international relations, labor,
military history, and social issues. Documents are selected at a comprehensive
level from the following US Federal Government agencies: Agriculture
Department; Commerce Department, particularly the Census Bureau; Department
of Education; Interior Department, particularly the United States Geological
Survey; Health and Human Services; and the Justice Department. The Library's
current selection ratio is 59.09% through the Federal Depository Library Program. Electronic versions of documents, especially
web-based, are strongly preferred. The percentage of selected documents may change annually
due to decisions to add or deselect categories based on the following
factors.
- Availability of online resources
- The changing nature of the university's academic mission and
programs
- Historical research purposes
- Availability of information in other sources and formats
- Geographic area covered by the material
- User interest
The
federal collection is a "research level" collection. That is,
it includes supplementary material beyond depository items.
The collection should be comprehensive particularly in areas supporting
the curriculum and research of University of Arizona University.
2. Selection Responsibility
The Librarian assigned for
the GPO liaison activities is a member of the Social Sciences Team,
responsible for Political Science, Public Administration and Public Policy, and Law and
has many years of documents experience. Social Sciences Team is one
of the Integrative Services Team in the Library. Integrative Services
Teams include Science and Engineering Team, Fine Arts/Humanities Team,
Undergraduate Services Team, Research Archives, Museums and Special
Collections Team, and Social Sciences Team. The Integrative Services
Teams work closely on issues such as collection development and services.
Profile selection requires input from all Information
Resource Managers in the Library
Information Resource Managers
from the Integrative Services Teams, in consultation with the Social
Sciences/Government Documents Librarian, are responsible for the selection
of all government information resources. Purchases of non-depository
government publications are made by other subject librarians with input
from faculty and students in order to meet the needs of the
University of Arizona community. Worn, lost, duplicate, or stolen depository materials are evaluated for replacement
according to the Library's collection policy. The Library maintains
a deposit account with the Government Printing Office Bookstore to supplement
the depository collection and to replace lost or damaged materials.
Each year item number selections
are reviewed. While a zero-based item number review is recommended each
year, or every 2-3 years by the GPO,this is very difficult in a
large selective depository. Instead, we focus on selected agencies
or formats for yearly review. Information Resource Managers from
the Integrative Services Teams, in consultation with the GPO Liaison
Librarian, are responsible for the selection of all govenment information
resources. Individual items will be purchased, and item numbers added
during GPO's Annual Selection Cycle. The GPO Liaison Librarian will
coordinate this effort.
Collection development activities germane to federal depository
documents include:
- Determining which tangible titles including CD/DVD
titles need to be maintained in the collection
- Identification of item numbers for addition to or deletion from
the Library's item selection list
- Determining which publications, including CD/DVD titles, are
appropriately housed in non-circulating locations (e.g. reference
and special collection);
- Determining retention policies for reference materials
- Determining when to weed outdated materials
- Determining what non-depository titles
should be acquired to supplement the depository collection.
3. Formats Selected
All government publications are selected in the most appropriate
available format, taking into consideration content, user needs, and
library facilities.
The Library's preference is to select resources in e-format
and to develop a virtual Federal depository library collection. The
Library is a strong supporter of Federal virtual depository program
and its policy supports virtual depository program for Federal publications.
The Library collection policy is to select resources only in one format.
As a virtual Federal depository library, we will continuously modify
our item selection profile to replace tangible format resources with
e-fomat, with the exception of maps, tangible electronic products that
contain large data sets, and highly used resources. Currently, the Library
selects only 3 titltes in dual formats and these titles are: Statistical Abstract of the United States, Digest of Education Statistics, and Economic and Agriculture Census.
The library participates in
the Documents Expediting Project of the Library of Congress through
which it can obtain many tangible government publications unavailable
through the depository program. Information Resource Managers
need to contact government agencies directly to receive materials
not available from the GPO.
Our Technical Services and
Archival Processing Team maintain deposit accounts with the GPO and
the National Technical Information System (NTIS) for purchase of government
materials, which may not be otherwise available.
The Library also supplements
the depository collection with mostly online commercial services such
as indexes, bibliographies, and full-text products. Some services are,
by contract, available only to the University community, others are available
to all users. A list of these resources is available on Sabio,
the Library information gateway, under "show all databases."
4. De-Selection/Weeding
Publications which no longer
fit the selection standards and policy are withdrawn from the collection by Information Resource
Managers as permitted by the US Government Printing Office's "Instructions
to Depository Libraries" http://www.access.gpo.gov/su_docs/fdlp/pubs/instructions/index.html.
Those titles that are no longer needed and meet the 5-year GPO retention
rule are offered first to the regional depository, the Arizona State
Library, and then to depository libraries throughout the United States, either through postings to GOVDOC-L or through submission
to the national "Needs
and Offers List." Unneeded titles not claimed by another depository
library are discarded with the permission of the regional depository.
Specific
materials to be weeded include:
- Duplicate tangible resources, with the exception of exempt titles
- Preliminary reports (if final report has been received)
- Incomplete series or volumes and documents that have been revised
- Superseded publications - see GPO Guidelines
for Superseded Materials (http://www.access.gpo.gov/su_docs/fdlp/coll-dev/supersede.html)
- Individual serials titles if the Library does not have a complete
run
Documents which will be exempt from weeding include:
- Any material containing information on Arizona or the Southwest
region
- Any information containing information on American Indians or
U.S.-Mexico borderlands
- Significant publications that support graduate degree programs
at the University of Arizona, particularly items that have actively
circulated or are related to areas of focused excellence.
5. Gifts
Generally the Library does
not accept gifts. Please see the UA
Library Gift Policy for full information (http://dizzy.library.arizona.edu/library/teams/irdp/giftpolicy.htm)
6. Preservation
In order to preserve the collection,
the Library staff selectively binds currently received printed materials.
The Library policy is to collect in one format and electronic is preferred.
The Library staff makes every effort to replace badly damaged or deteriorating
materials with online available products.
BIBLIOGRAPHIC CONTROL AND
ACCESS
Technical Services and Archival Processing/Docs staff mainstream bibliographic access to federal
documents by providing MARC/AACR2-formatted record on SABIO.
The Library purchases bibliographic
records from Marcive, Inc. The automated Shipping List Service (SLS)
is loaded weekly and permanent records are loaded on a monthly cycle
into SABIO. On April 2, 1995, 6, 672 MARC records for federal document serial titles
purchased from Marcive, Inc. were loaded. To date, nearly all post-1976
publications have been edited and merged with existing holdings records,
or deleted and replaced with more accurate records on our on-line catalog
(SABIO) along with other materials purchased by the Library. Thus, all
depository materials are represented in SABIO and available for circulation (if
appropriate) shortly after arriving in the Library.
ACCESS
1. Public Access Policies
The primary circulating collection,
reference materials, microfiche, CD-ROM’s, current periodicals,
maps and as well as rare materials are available to the Library users
during the hours the Library building is open. Most circulating materials
are located on the 3rd floor of the Main Library. There is no restriction for public using this collection. There
are four public computer stations with access to Internet, government
documents page, and other links and other software designated as priority
for use of government documents resources. Depository maps are
classed into LC and housed in the map area (compact shelving). Reference
is provided from the main reference services areas of the Library. Phone
and Internet questions are accepted, although complex reference requests
will require that users come to the library. Most federal documents
circulate to registered borrowers and are lent via interlibrary loan.
2. Internet access
The Library depends increasingly
on Internet access to government information. US government agencies
are in the forefront of publishing in electronic formats, including
documents available on the Internet. Now that documents are increasingly
posted on the Internet and federal agencies rely even less upon GPO
for procurement and distribution, and not at all for bibliographic control,
so we attempt to provide online and remote access via the Library's
information gateway.
In addition, we also select depository items based on a combination
of anticipated usage, format, ease of access, and timeliness. One concern
for not selecting an item that is available in paper as well as on the
Internet is that if the item is not selected, then it is not represented
in our online catalog. On the other hand, if an online version is available
at the time GPO catalogs a document; our catalog record will include
a link to the Internet version in the online catalog.
Federal
Depository Selection Tools and Policies
Policies That Should Be Known To All Information Resource Managers
Are:
Library Access Policy
Collection
Development Policy (http://www.access.gpo.gov/su_docs/fdlp/pubs/fdlm/coldev.html)
Library Binding Policy
Library's Replacement Policy
FDLP Internet
Use Policy Guidelines (http://www.access.gpo.gov/su_docs/fdlp/mgt/iupolicy.html)
Public Service
Guidelines for Government Information in Electronic Formats - (http://www.access.gpo.gov/su_docs/fdlp/mgt/pseguide.html)
State Plan
(http://www.access.gpo.gov/su_docs/fdlp/mgt/sdltr8-17-01.html)
Sources
- "Basic Collection", Appendix C, in Federal Depository Library
Manual (1993), at 173, 173-174, last updated June 19, 1998 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/su_docs/fdlp/coll-dev/basic-01.html>
- Collection Development Guidelines for Selective
Federal Depository Libraries: Federal Depository Library Manual
Supplement (1994). Also available on Internet (visited May 13, 1999)
<http://www.access.gpo.gov/su_docs/fdlp/pubs/fdlm/coldev.html>.
- Federal Depository Library Manual (1993).
Also available on Internet (visited June 10, 1999) <http://www.access.gpo.gov/su_docs/fdlp/pubs/fdlm/>.
- Instructions to Depository Libraries: Updated
July 2000. <http://www.access.gpo.gov/su_docs/fdlp/pubs/instructions/index.html>.
- "Suggested Core Collection," Appendix A,
in Federal Depository Library Manual (1993), at 123, 123-156, last
updated May 19, 1997, <http://www.access.gpo.gov/su_docs/fdlp/pubs/instructions/index.html>.
Return to top of page
APPENDIX A:
RECOMMENDED ASSIGNMENTS OF RESPONSIBILITY FOR
ACQUIRING FEDERAL DOCUMENTS TO INTEGRATIVE SERVICES TEAMS
|
SuDoc Class
|
Department/Agency
|
Team
|
|
A -------
AA ------
AE ------
C --------
C 13 --
C 21----
C 51 --
C 55 --
CR -----
D--------
D 5.300
|
Agriculture Dept ----------------------
ACTION- ------------------------------
National Archives and Records Admin ---
Commerce Dept. ------------------------
except
National Institute of Standards and Technology
Office of Patents and Trademarks -----------
National Technical Information Service ------
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Admin. ---
Commission on Civil Rights -------------------
Defense Dept. --------------------
except
Defense Mapping Agency -------
|
SET
SST
SST
SST
SET
SET
SET
SET
SST
SST/SET
SST
|
|
E ------
ED ----
EP ------
FA ------
FCA -----
FEM -----
FHP ----
FM -----
FMC ---
FR -----
FTZ ----
|
Energy Dept. ---------------------------------
Education Dept. ------------------------------
Environmental Protection Agency -------------
Commission on Fine Arts ----------------------
Farm Credit Administration -------------------
Federal Emergency Management Agency -----
Federal Housing Financing Board -------------
Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service ---
Federal Maritme Commission ----------------
Federal Reserve System Board of Governors--
Foreign Trade Zones Board ------------------
|
SET
SST
SET
FAH
SST
SET
SST
SST
SET
SST
SST
|
|
GA ----
GP ------
GS -----
HE ------
HH -----
I -------
IA ------
IC -------
ITC ------
J --------
JU -------
|
General Accounting Office ------------------
Government Printing Office ------------------
General Services Administration -------------
Health and Human Services Dept. -----------
Housing and Urban Development -----------
Interior Dept. -------------------------------
US Information Agency -------------------
Interstate Commerce Commission ----------
International Trade Commission ------------
Justice Dept. ------------------------------
Judiciary -----------------------------------
|
SST
SST
SST
SET
SST
SET
SST
SST
SST
SST
SST
|
|
L --------
LC ------
LR ------
MS -----
NAS ---
NC -----
NCU ----
NF -----
NMB -----
NS ------
|
Labor Dept.--------------------------------
Library of Congress -----------------------
National Labor Relations Board ------------
Merit Systems Protection Board ------------
National Aeronautics and Space Admin. ----
National Capitol Planning Commission ------
National Credit Union Administration -------
National Foundation on the Arts and the
Humanities ----------------------------------
National Mediation Board ------------------
National Science Foundation ----------------
|
SST
SST
SST
SST
SET
FAH
SST
FAH
SST
SET
|
|
OP ------
P -------
PE -------
PM ------
PR -----
PREX ----
--PREX 8
--PREX 14
--PREX 23
|
Overseas private Investment Corp. ---------
Postal Service -----------------------------
Peace Corps ------------------------------
Office of Personnel Management ---------
President ----------------------------------
Executive Office of the President -----------
except
Federal Coordinating Council for Science,
Engineering and Technology --------------
Council on Environmental Quality ----------
Office of Science and Technology Policy
|
SST
SST
SET
SST
SST
SST
SET
SET
SET
|
|
PRVP ----
RR ------
S --------
S 18
SBA ------
SE --------
SI 1, 3, 9--
SI 4, 6, 7, 11, 13, 14
|
Vice President ------------------------------
Railroad Retirement Board -----------------
State Dept. ---------------------------------
except
Agency for International Development --------
Small Business Administration ----------------
Securities and Exchange Commission --------
Smithsonian Institution -----------------------
Smithsonian Institution -----------------------
|
SST
SST
SST
SET
SST
SST
SET
FAH
|
|
SSA ----- ----
T -------- ----
TD ------ ----
VA ------ ----
X ------- ---
Y 1, 4, 7 ---
Y 3 -----------
Y 3.N 88 ------
Y 10------------
|
Social Security Administration ---------------
Treasury Department ------------------------
Transportation Dept. -----------------------
Veterans Affairs Dept. ----------------------
Congress -----------------------------------
Congress -----------------------------------
Congressional Commissions ----------------
except
Nuclear Energy Commission -----------------
Congressional Budget Office --------------
|
SST
SST
SET
SST
SST
SST
SST
SST
SET
SST
|
|
|
|
|
Publications issued by these agencies can be on virtually any subject.
Collection development decisions regarding LC- and Y 3-classed documents
will be assigned to the appropriate Information Resource Manager,
whichever integrative services team he/she is on.
|
|