The University of Arizona Library
Research by SUBJECT: Political Science and Government

Gov't Docs HOME

How to locate Congressional Reports and Documents
(Congressional Serial Set) at the UA Library

 

 
How to find
1789-1969
Reports & Documents
1st - 91st (1st sess.) Congress
Location: UA Special Collections & UA microfiche collection
How to find
1970-1990
Reports & Documents

91st (2nd sess.) - 101st Congress
Location: UA Special Collections
How to find
1991-present
Reports & Documents

102nd Congress - present
Location: Online

 

Definitions:

  • Reports: A Report is a printed record of a House or Senate committee's actions and views on a bill. Reports can contain discussions of legislative intent or a short history of a bill. Reports are assigned separate numbers for each chamber and congress (i.e.: H. Rpt.-107-25 or S. Rpt.-103-45). 

  • Document: House and Senate Documents are special reports issued by the full chamber. They can contain Presidential messages on new legislation or vetoes, special reports of executive branch agencies, or biannual reports on committee activities. Documents are assigned separate numbers for each chamber and congress (i.e.: H. Doc.-104-27 Or S. Doc.-102-37).

1789-1969 Congressional Reports & Documents

LOCATION IN UA LIBRARY: Most of these materials are located in Special Collections, so you will need specific citation information (the Serial Set number and the Report or Document number) in order to have the materials pulled for you. The following instructions should help you find the necessary information.

The goal: You will need to locate the Serial Set and Document or Report numbers in order to request your document from the Special Collections staff. Here is how you find them:
STEP 1: Start here!
LexisNexis CIS Congressional Universe:
Congressional Indexes, 1789-1969
Link will open in a new window so that you can refer to instructions
Step 2: search by SUBJECT:
  1. Select "Subject"
  2. Enter your keyword(s) or choose a subject from the Subject List
  3. Change document type (the 4th box) to "Serial Set"
  4. Select the appropriate date, or a range of dates
  5. Click the "Search" button
  6. From the results, select the appropriate record
  7. The top of your citation will contain the same types of information as the box below. Write down the Report or Document number and the Serial Set number and bring it to the Special Collections desk. You will need these two numbers to request the document (see bolded below):
Give Special Collections staff the information in bold:

Sample LexisNexis citation

TITLE: Claims of Crow Indians against United States. 2 pts.

CIS-NO: 8524 S.rp.352
DOC-TYPE: Serial Set Collection
DOC-NO: S.rp.352, 69-1 [Report/document number]
SERIAL-VOL-NO: 8524 [Serial Set number]
SESSIONAL-VOL-NO: 1
CONG-SESS: 69-1
SESSION-DATE: 1925, 1926 CONGRESS: 69

[Special Collections location & hours]

Important note: Serial Set numbers 1 to 1867 (1789 (1st Cong)-1879 (45th Cong. 3rd sess.) are also available in the CIS Microfiche collection (compact shelving, 1st floor of library, aisle 2b, cabinet 77). The microfiche is a good alternative if Special Collections doesn't have the item you want, or if it is closed. All you will need to find your microfiche is the Serial Set number.


Practice
1. Find a 1889 House Report on relief to female nurses who served in the War of Rebellion.

1970-1990 Congressional Reports & Documents

LOCATION IN UA LIBRARY: These materials are located in Special Collections, so you will need specific citation information (the Congress & session numbers, the date and the Report or Document number) in order to have the materials pulled for you. The following instructions should help you find the necessary information.
[Special Collections location & hours]

The goal: You will need to locate the Congress & session numbers, the date, and the Report or Document number in order to request your document from the Special Collections staff. Here is how you find them:
STEP 1: Start here!
CIS Congressional Universe: CIS Index
Link will open in a new window so that you can refer to instructions
Step 2: search by SUBJECT:
  1. Select "Subject"
  2. Enter your keyword(s) or choose a subject from the Subject List
  3. Select the appropriate date, or a range of dates
  4. Select the appropriate document type ("Document" or "Report")
  5. Click the "Search" button
  6. From the results, select the appropriate record
  7. The top of your citation will contain the same types of information as the box below. Write down the Report or Document number, the date, and the Congress & Session numbers and bring them to the Special Collections desk (see bolded examples below):
Give Special Collections staff the information in bold:

Sample LexisNexis citation

TITLE: Navajo and Hopi Indian Relocation Amendments of 1988

CIS-NO: 88-S413-9
SOURCE: Committee on Indian Affairs, Select. Senate DOC-
TYPE: Report
DOC-NO: S. Rpt. 100-425
[Report/document number]
DATE: July 11, 1988 [Date]
LENGTH: 47 p.
CONG-SESS: 100-2 [Congress & Session number]
ITEM-NO: 1008-C; 1008-D
SUDOC: Y1.1/5:100-425
MC-ENTRY-NO: 88-17447


Practice
1. Find a 1974 Senate Report on UN Peacekeeping in the Middle East.

1991-present Congressional Reports & Documents:

LOCATION IN UA LIBRARY: Reports from 1989+ and documents from 1995+ are available full-text online via CIS Congressional Universe and GPO Access. Earlier reports and documents are available in microfiche with both the CIS collection and with the Y1 depository collection in the microfoms area.

Start here!
CIS Congressional Universe: CIS Index
Link will open in a new window so that you can refer to instructions
bullet Search by Subject:
  1. Select Subject
  2. Enter your keyword(s) or choose a subject from the Subject List
  3. Select the appropriate date
  4. Click the "Search" button
  5. From the results, select the appropriate record
bullet Search by Number
  1. Select Document Number
  2. Select the type of document (i.e.: H. Rpt.)
  3. Select the Congress 
  4. Fill in the number
  5. Click the "Search" button

Example: S. Rpt. - 106 - 10 

If the materials you need are not available online in full text, write down the CIS number which is in Microfiche located in the compact shelving in Main.

Sample LexisNexis citation

TITLE: Agreement on Trade Relations Between the U.S. and the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics


CIS-NO: 91-H780-22
SOURCE: Committee on Ways and Means. House
DOC-TYPE: Document
DOC-NO: H. Doc. 102-148 [Document Number]
DATE: Oct. 9, 1991 [Date]
CONG-SESS: 102-1 [Congress & Session Numbers]
SUDOC: Y1.1/7:102-148


Practice
1. Use the subjects of "Libya" and "terrorism" to find a 1992 House document. Write the proper citation and indicate where the full text of this document is located in the library.

 

Online Alternatives to full text in LexisNexis

^ back to top

 

 

UA Government Documents homepage
Political Science & Government Subject Guide | Political Science & Public Policy
SABIO Information Gateway

 

 

Please send comments and link suggestions to:
Atifa R. Rawan, rawana@u.library.arizona.edu
University of Arizona Main Library, A207
1510 E. University, Tucson, AZ 85720

Designed by Lisa Waite Bunker
©2002 Arizona Board of Regents. All rights reserved.
Last updated May 14, 2003