The University of Arizona Library
Research by SUBJECT: Political Science and Government

Gov't Docs HOME

Government Publications at the University of Arizona

 

 

The University of Arizona Library (U of A) was designated a federal Depository in 1907, for the European Union documents since 1974. The Library collects United Nations Publications dating from 1946. Extensive current and archival collections of Arizona State and local publications are located in Special Collections. This Library also serves the government information needs of the 5th U.S. Congressional district of Arizona.

THE UNIVERSITY OF ARIZONA
FEDERAL PUBLICATIONS COLLECTION

The Library holds nearly 2 million paper and microform Federal publications among its collections. The vast majority of paper items are housed on the 3rd floor of the Main Library. The maps are mostly housed on the first floor except for those located in Special Collections. Patent and Trademark Publications, National Technical Information Service (NTIS), National Aeronautic and Space Administration (NASA), and Energy microfilms, are housed in the Science and Engineering Library.

The Library collections are particularly strong in statistical materials and congressional publications. Census publications printed reports from all decennial population censuses, 1790 to the present and reports are from all quinquennial economic and agriculture censuses from 1940 to the present. The Library's holdings of congressional publications--including the Congressional Record and it predecessors; hearings, committee prints, reports, documents, and laws from 1789.

The documents collection also features a number of significant historical works such as: The War of the Rebellion, The U.S. Army in World War II, Public Papers of the Presidents, American State Papers, Commissioner of Indian Affairs Annual Report, and Indian Claims Commission.


ACCESS TO GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS

Government resources published after 1976 are accessible through the Library's on-line catalog <http://www.library.arizona.edu/>. The Library provides access to GPO online (GPOAccess the official web site), as well as the many web sites of government offices and agencies numerous offices and agencies. The Library's Government Government Documents home page address is <http://www.library.arizona.edu/library/teams/sst/pol/guide/govdocs.html>. This page points to the GPO web page and to gateways to GPOAccess.


OTHER RESOURCES

To further enhance access and research capabilities, the Library has acquired large commercial paper indexes, microform collections, and electronic full text databases such as:

Paper & Microform Collections
American Statistics Index
Code of Federal Regulations
Federal Register
Index to International Statistics
Presidential Executive Orders and Proclamations 1789-1969
U.S. Congressional Committee Hearings
Unpublished House and Senate Hearings and Committee Prints

Electronic Resources
Agricola
CIS Congressional Compass
Declassified Documents
Eurocat
Geo Base
Geo Ref (GeoSciences)
LexisNexis
Monthly Catalog
NTIS
STAT-USA
United Nations
Water Resources Abstracts


HOURS/SERVICES

Reference services for the government publications are provided from the Main (Info Commons) and Science library reference desks. The documents collection is accessible when ever the library is open. UA Library hours

If you are unable to find a document and you are affiliated with the University of Arizona, you may access government documents at other libraries via Interlibrary Loan. If you are not affiliated with U of A, Please use the interlibrary loan services at your local library.

 

 

 

UA Government Documents homepage
Political Science & Government Subject Guide | Political Science & Public Policy
SABIO Information Gateway

GPO Depository logo

About the UA Library's Government Documents repositories
UA Government Documents Collection Development Policy

 

 

Please send comments and link suggestions to:
Atifa R. Rawan, rawana@u.library.arizona.edu
University of Arizona Main Library, A207
1510 E. University, Tucson, AZ 85720

Designed by Lisa Waite Bunker
©2002 Arizona Board of Regents. All rights reserved.
Last updated March 17, 2005