Documentaries on Videotape or DVD for Mexican American Studies
at the University of Arizona Library

 

 

Media Collection: Videos: Documentaries and Interviews | Videos: Feature Films | Sound recordings | 16mm films
Southwest Folklore Collection: Spoken Recordings | Music: Native Peoples | Music: Collections | Music: Mexican, A-G | H-Z
HOME


The Library's Media Collection is located on floor 2B, east of the Circulation Desk

 

Documentaries: Title and Summary Call Number
$4 a Day? No Way!: Joining Hands Across the Border. Washington, DC: [s.n.], 199?
Documents events at a Ford plant in Mexico to support the view that international corporations exploit Mexican workers. Tells how workers, unable to get help from the official government trade union, are reaching out to labor unions in other countries for assistance. 19 min., 22 sec.
Media HD8039.A82 M45 1990z
500 Nations, Mexico: Rise and Fall of the Aztecs. Burbank, CA: Warner Home Video, 1995. (50 min.) Media F1219.73 .A15 1995 v.2
500 Years of Chicano History SEE Viva La Causa!: 500 Years of Chicano History
La Acequia. Santa Fe, NM: Onewest Media, 1979.
Depicts the cleaning of rural irrigation ditches in New Mexico, an annual tradition practiced since the arrival of the Spanish settlers in the 16th century. (10 min.)
Media TC824.N6 A33 1979
Adelante Mujeres!: History of Mexican-American/Chicana Women in the United States. Windsor, CA: The Project, 1992.
Documents the five century history of Mexican-American / Chicana women, emphasizing major themes, organizations, and personalities. (30 min.) + 1 discussion guide (34 p.)
Media E184.M5 A33 1992
AIDS in the Barrio (Eso no me pasa a mi). New York?: AIDS Film Initiative in collaboration with Documentary Film, ©1988.
Discusses the causes and effects of AIDS in the Hispanic community through interviews with AIDS sufferers, their families, and members of the community at large. Drug abuse, cultural attitudes toward condom use and toward homosexuality, and the economic causes of drug abuse in the barrio are covered, as well as the role of family and friends in comforting and helping AIDS victims. Measures to prevent the spread of AIDS to wives and women friends of drug users and bi-sexual men are also discussed. In English and Spanish with English subtitles. (30 min.)
Media RA644.A25 A637 1988
All Work and No Play: NAFTA's Impact on Child Labor. Washington, DC: AFL-CIO, ©1993.
Child labor continues to be a problem today, as corporations seek out the cheapest possible labor. NAFTA will not ensure enforcement of child labor laws, and further exploitation of children is feared as labor costs continue to rise. (9 min.)
Media HD6231 .A45 1993
Alonso's Dream. Brooklyn, NY: First Run/Icarus Films, ©2000.
Alonso lives in the Highland of Chenalho, where his community is filled with conflict due to the standoff between the Zapatista National Liberation Army and the Mexican government. The Zapatistias are demaning equal rights for the indigenous people. This film focuses on the impact the revolution and paramilitary violence have had on the daily lives of Mayan peasants. Dialogue in Spanish and Mayan with English voiceover; title and credits in English. (71 min.)
Media F1435.3.S68 A46 2000
An American Story with Richard Rodriguez. Alexandria, VA: PBS Video, ©1990.
Part I. Rodriguez' experiences of growing up in America as the son of immigrants, the loss of his "Mexican soul", and his first exposure to American culture. Part II. Discussion continues on the differences between Mexican and American cultures, including his observations on America's growing sense of loss and the essence of American society today. (56 min.)
Media E184.M5 A53 1990
Americas. South Burlington, VT: Annenberg/CPB Collection, ©1993.
This intimate look at contemporary Latin America examines issues confronting the entire region by focusing on individual communities. In English and Spanish, with English subtitles and voiceovers. 10 videocassettes (57 min. each)
Media F1408 .A58 1993
Art and Revolution, Mexico. Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities, 1982.
Shows how history and art have been brought together in Mexico by such painters as Rivera, Siqueiros, and Orozco.
Media N6555 .A74 1982
The Art of Resistance. New York: Cinema Guild, 1994.
Seven chicano artists talk about their work and how it has contributed to the civil rights movement for Mexican Americans. (26 min.)
Media N6538.M4 A78 1994
The Artistic Legacy of the Mexican Revolution. Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities & Sciences, 1995.
An overview of the Mexican Revolution and its impact on the culture of the Mexican American community. (30 min.)
Media F1234 .A795 1995
Arturo Madrid: Challenging Hispanic Stereotypes. Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities, ©1994.
Moyers and Madrid discuss the controversy surrounding bilingual education and the state of education, in general, for Hispanic people. Originally broadcast on the television program A world of ideas in 1988. (30 min.)
Media E184.S75 A88 1994
Ballad of an Unsung Hero. New York: Cinema Guild, ©1983.
Uses archival footage, photographs, and recordings, as well as interviews, to chronicle the life of Pedro J. Gonzalez, who served as telegrapher for Pancho Villa, became a radio star and recording artist in the United States, championed the cause of Mexican-Americans, and worked as a prisoner in San Quentin to reform the California penal system. In English and Spanish with English subtitles. (28 min.)
Media E184.M5 B34 1990z
Barriers of Solitude: The Universal History of a Mexican Village (La barrieres de la solitude: pueblo en vilo). New York: Filmakers Library, 1996.
French & English.
Media F1203 .B3713 1996
Biculturalism and Acculturation among Latinos. Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities & Sciences, 1992.
This film examines the question of which part of their culture Latinos feel they should keep and leave behind. It explodes some commonly held beliefs and misconceptions about who Latinos are in the U.S. and probes the relationship between ethnic identity and entrepreneurial success in the U.S. marketplace. (28 min.)
Media E184.S75 B53 1992
Biografía: The Lives of Latin American Writers. Julio Cortazar: Argentina's Iconoclast. Pablo Neruda: Chile's Master Poet. Gabriela Mistral: Focused on Love. Octavio Paz: Mexico's Muse. Jose Marti: Cuba's Herald. Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities & Sciences, ©2000.
Through archival material and interviews with family, friends, and scholars, this series looks at the lives and works of five Latin American writers. In Spanish. 5 videocassettes (142 min.)
Media PQ7081.3 .B56 2000
Birthwrite, Growing up Hispanic New York: Cinema Guild, ©1988.
Examines the work of several Hispanic-American writers and how their poems, short stories, and novels reflect what it means to grow up Hispanic in America. Discusses influences on their writing including the oral traditions of the Hispanic community, their creative methods, and specific themes. (57 min., 4 sec.)
Media PS508.H57 B57 1988
La Boda (The Wedding). New York: Women Make Movies, ©2000.
Documentary filmed in Nuevo Leon, Mexico, in Mission, Texas and Shafter, California. This movie follows the life of a migrant community, primarily through the eyes of Elizabeth, whose wedding to Artemio concludes the film. Portions in Spanish with English subtitles. (54 min.)
Media E184.M5 B59 2000
The Border: Real and Imaginery, Past and Present. Tucson, AZ: University of Arizona, 1979.
A visual essay using photographic still images and music, Joaquin Rodrigo's Concierto de Aranjuez, to capture the ambience of border life and the contrast between Mexican, Indian, and American cultures and to portray man's alienation from his fellow man. M.A. Thesis, Department of Drama, Univ. of Arizona. 1 cassette (10 min.)
Media E9791 1979 332
Borderline Cases: Environmental Matters at the United States-Mexico Border. Oley, PA: Bullfrog Films, 1997.
Describes problems caused by factories along the U.S. and Mexico border which did not need to comply with environmental regulations.
Media TD897.8.M6 B67 1997
El Che: Investigating a Legend. West Long Branch, NJ: White Star, ©1997. (97 min.) Media F2849.22.G85 K35 1997
Che Guevara: Restless Revolutionary. New York: A&E Television Networks, ©1998. (50 min.) Media F2849.22.G85 C44 1998
Chicana. New York: Women Make Movies, 1989.
This film employs Mexican murals, rare photographs, prints, and documentary footage to trace the traditional and the emerging roles of Mexican/Chicanas from pre-Columbian times to the present, showing how women have made important contributions as workers, mothers, activists, educators, leaders, and in numerous other ways, despite their generally oppressed status in the Latino culture. (23 min.)
Media E184.M5 C386 1989
Chicano Park. New York: Cinema Guild, ©1988.
Under the San Diego approaches to the San Diego-Coronado Bridge is Chicano Park in San Diego, Calif., and its murals. This is the story of its creation and a history of the Chicano community in San Diego. (59 min.)
Media F869.S22 C5 1988
Children of Zapata. New York: Filmakers Library, 1994.
Describes the Zapatista National Liberation Army's struggle for democratic reform from the Mexican Government. (24 min.)
Media F1256 .C56 1994
The Chinampas. Berkeley, CA: University of California, Extension Media Center, ©1990.
Describes the Chinampa, a traditional Mexican agricultural system, and traces its long history. Shows modern day threats to this system and discusses measures to save the Chinampa. (31 min.)
Media SB87.M6 C45 1990
Chulas Fronteras. El Cerrito, CA: Brazos Films, [198-?], ©1976.
Features the music and culture of Mexican-Americans living in southern Texas, showing food preparation, family life, dances, fieldwork, and other social activities. (58 min.)
Media F395.M5 C48 1980z
The Civilizations of Mexico. Princeton, NJ: Films For the Humanities, 1986.
Covers Mexican civilizations from 5th century BC to the invasion of the Spaniards in 16th century AD.
Media F1210 .C58 1986
The Conquest of Mexico. Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities, Inc., 1992, ©1991.
"This program provides a portrait of Cortez and his world; of the New World as seen by a handful of Spaniards; and of the civilizations of Mesoamerica before they were 'discovered'--and the world of the Mayas and Aztecs, the nature of Aztec religion and politics. It describes the Battle of Mexico and how and why Montezuma lost--and why the descendants of the Aztecs speak Nahuati today." (35 min.)
Media F1230 .C56 1992
Corpus: A Home Movie for Selena. San Francisco, CA: Xochitl Films, ©1998.
Corpus focuses on the singer's fans -- the people on both sides of the border who saw in Selena a symbol of hope and cultural pride, and the chance to emerge from a background of poverty and despair to achieve personal and professional success. The film is structured around interviews with personal friends and family of Selena as well as fans who never met the star but consider her part of their lives. Their recollections are intercut with archival footage of Selena's performances and appearances at awards ceremonies, and news coverage about her murder and the memorial service in Corpus Christi. (46 min., 40 sec.)
Media PN1997.5 .C67 1998
Cortéz: Dateline Yesterday. Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities & Sciences, ©1993.
"A dramatized portrait of the redoubtable conquistador, who instigated the collision of two highly sophisticated and very different cultures when his tiny army clashed with the forces of Montezuma. The resulting holocaust gave rise to the birth of modern Mexico." (30 cm.)
Media F1230 .H485 1993
Day of the Dead. Princeton, NJ : Films for the Humanities & Sciences, 1999, ©1996.
Presents the annual commemoration of the Day of the Dead as it is celebrated on the island of La Picanda. Spanish with English subtitles. (50 min.)
Media GT4995.A9 D39 1999
A Day without a Mexican: a Mockumentary. CA: AraU-AriZmendi, ©1997.
Presented in documentary fashion, this videotape shows what would happen, what adverse effects there would be, etc. if all Mexican Americans and Mexicans in the United States were to be gotten rid of in some way, shape or form. (30 min., 24 sec.)
Media PN1997.5 .D39 1997
El Dia la noche y los muertos (Day of the Dead). [S.l.]: Calavera Productions; New York: Filmakers Library, [distributor], 1998?
Filmed in the village of Patzcuaro, this is a dramatization of a pilgrimage on October 31, All Souls' Day in Mexico, when people celebrate their ancestors and communicate with long dead loved ones. The religious holy day is marked by celebrations and special events, making the relationship with death one of friendship rather than fear. English and Spanish. (30 min.)
Media GT4995.A4 D54 1998
Dolores. New York: Cinema Guild, 1988.
Presents a dramatization which portrays the problem of domestic violence in the Latino community. Spanish with English subtitles. (51 min.)
Media HQ809.3.U5 D6 1988
"Donde digo Diego." Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities, 1989, ©1983.
On a visit to the Rivera Museum, the life, works and pre-Columbian collections of Diego Rivera are presented. In Spanish. (56 min.)
Media ND259.R5 D65 1989
Encuesta sobre migracion en la Frontera Norte de Mexico 1996-1997. Mexico, D.F.: Secretaria del Trabajo y Prevision Social, ©1999. Media HD5856.M6 E638 1999
El Enigma de Quetzalcoatl. Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities, 1989, ©1983.
A Mexican documentary about the prehistoric god, Quetzalcoatl (the feathered serpent) which traces the origin of this legend through different prehispanic cultures, including the Teotihuacanos, Aztecs and Mayans. Also explains the significance of Quetzalcoatl in these cultures and in the Spanish conquest of Mexico. (56 min.)
Media F1219.3.F6 E54 1989
Eso no me pasa a mi, SEE AIDS in the Barrio
Estos fueron los palacios: Carlos Fuentes. Hanover, NH: [Ediciones del Norte], 1983.
Interviews with the Mexican author Carlos Fuentes conducted by his wife Silvia. (60 min.)
Media PQ7297.F793 Z597 1983
Fernando del Paso, Escritor Mexicano. Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities & Sciences, ©1998.
In his interview with Silvia Lemus, Fernando del Paso discusses his writing techniques and the literary influences that contributed to their formation. An episode of the television program Tratos y retratos. (43 min.)
Media PQ7298.26.A76 Z58 1998
Festivals and Holidays in Latin America. Melville, NY: Video Knowledge, ©1997.
Highlights the celebrations, both religious and secular, which reflect the different cultures of the many groups inhabiting Latin America: Assumption Day in Solola, Guatemala -- 50th Anniversary of the Methodist School in San Jose, Costa Rica -- Santo Domingo Day in Managua, Nicaragua -- St. Ann's Day in Panama City -- Los Lunes del Cerro in Oaxaca, Mexico. In English (21 min.), followed by the identical program in Spanish (21 min.).
Media GT4813.5 .F4 1997
The Fight in the Fields: Cesar Chavez and the Farmworkers' Struggle. Sparks, NV: Paradigm Productions, ©1996.
The story of Cesar Chavez, the charismatic founder of the United Farmworkers Union and the movement that he inspired - a movement that touched the hearts of millions of Americans with the grape and lettuce boycotts, a nonviolent movement that confronted conservative politicians like Ronald Reagan and the powerful Teamsters Union. (115 min.)
Media HD6509.C48 F54 1996
Five Latin American Authors Speak. Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities & Sciences [distributor], ©2000. Joaquin Soler Serrano interviews five of Latin America's preeminent authors, offering illuminating insights into their lives, their work, and the events that shaped them. Originally produced for the television program "A fondo" in 1977. In Spanish. 6 videocassettes (387 min.) Media PQ7081.3 .F48 2000
The Flow of the River. Albuquerque, NM: Hispanic Culture Foundation, 1988?
Presents an historical account of Spanish influences to the culture of New Mexico. (10 min.)
Media F796 .F55 1988z
Flowers for Guadalupe: The Presence of the Virgin of Guadalupe in Mexican Women's Lives. New York: Filmakers Library, ©1995.
This film explores the importance of the Virgin of Guadalupe as a liberating symbol for Mexican women today. Commentary in English with Spanish dialogue. (57 min.)
Media HQ1393 .F56 1995
Food for the Ancestors. Arlington, VA: Distributed by PBS Home Video, ©1999.
Presents Mexican customs relating to the care and remembrance of the dead as celebrated in the culturally rich state of Puebla. Focuses on folk arts related to the Dia de los Muertos celebration, such as weaving, pottery, dance, and preparation of special foods.
(57 min.)
Media GT4995.A4 .F6 1999
The Forgotten Americans. San Marcos, TX: Southwest Texas State University, ©2000.
Captures a day in the life of people living in colonias, (unincorporated settlements often lacking basic water and sewer systems, paved roads, and safe and sanitary housing) along the Texas-Mexico border. (60 min.)
Media HV4045.5.T4 F67 2000
The Frescoes of Diego Rivera. Concord, MA: Home Vision, ©1986.
Explores Rivera's evolution as an artist, his use of the fresco technique, and his politics. Looks at the murals Rivera created for public buildings in the U.S. and Mexico. They unite themes of nature and revolution, drawing a parallel between the evolution of life and the struggle for human dignity. (35 min.)
Media N6559.R58 A43 1986
Frida. Los Angeles: Connoisseur Meridian Films, 1997, ©1984.
A dramatized re-creation of the life of Frida Kahlo, Mexican artist, feminist and revolutionary. In Spanish with English subtitles. (108 min.)
Media PN1997 .F89 1997
Frida Kahlo (1910-1954). Chicago, IL: Home Vision, ©1983.
Profiles Frida Kahlo's work, her interest in politics and her tempestuous relationship with husband Diego Rivera, leader of the Mexican muralist movement. (62 min.)
Media ND259.K33 F74 1983
Frida Kahlo, Portrait of a Woman. Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities and Sciences, ©1992.
A theatrical presentation of the life of Mexican artist Frida Kahlo. (22 min.)
Media ND259.K33 F75 1992
From Sleepy Lagoon to Zoot Suit: The Irreverent Path of Alice McGrath. Santa Cruz, CA: Giges Productions, ©1996.
A profile of the life and work (in civil rights) of Alice Greenfield McGrath, including interviews with McGrath herself, with emphasis on her work in defending the rights of young Mexican American men in the Los Angeles area, who were often (and, in many cases, mistakenly) perceived as tough gangsters and hoodlums, in the early 1940's. (30 min., 38 sec.)
Media F869.L89 M435 1996
Gangs. Northbrook, IL: Distributed by MTI Film & Video, ©1988.
Filmed on location in the East Los Angeles Chicano barrios. This drama illustrates the nature of teenage gangs, and members' involvement in substance abuse and violence, sometimes resulting in death. (30 min.)
Media HV6439.U7 L72 1988
The Global Assembly Line. [S.l.]: Educational TV and Film Center, ©1986.
Documentary, filmed in electronic and garment factories, examines working forces in United States and free-trade zones of developing countries. (56 min.)
Media HD6336 .G56 1986
The Golden Cage: A Story of California's Farmworkers. New York: Filmakers Library, 1992, ©1990.
Chronicles the experiences of Mexican farmworkers in California. Traces the history of the United Farmworkers Union from the sixties to its current decline. Some parts in Spanish with English subtitles. (29 min.)
Media HD8083.C2 C6 1992
The Gringo in Mañanaland: A Musical. Willow NY: Halleck, 1995.
A montage of U.S.-produced films about Latin America, from silent films through 1995 television news, including corporate videos, around the themes of U.S. discovery of a tropical paradise with friendly native women, of money to be made, of local bandits and the need for U.S. troops. (61 min.)
Media PN1995.9.L37 G74 1995
Grounds: Inhale the Scent of History. San Francisco, CA: Canspeak Pictures, 2000.
During the Mexican Revolution, a widow buried a coffee can filled with family treasures and crossed into the United States. The can was never found and became a lost ancestral time capsule. More than eighty years later, the woman's great-granddaughter uses her own story of moving to San Francisco to explore the scent of history and the organic texture of migratory memory. (11 min.)
Media PN1997.5 .G76 2000
Hispanic Americans: The Second Generation. Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities & Sciences, 1998.
Examines how the second generation Hispanics are adapting to American society, and how they are maintaining their Latino roots while assimilating into the American cultural mainstream. Explores how they view themselves and how they view each other. In English with some Spanish. (44 min.)
Media E184.S75 H59516 1998
The Hispanic and Latin American Heritage Video Collection. Bala Cynwyd, PA: Schlessinger Video Productions, ©1995.
10 cassettes [1] Joan Baez: Mexican-American folksinger -- [2] Simon Bolivar: Latin American revolutionary -- [3] Cesar Chavez: Mexican-American labor leader -- [4] Roberto Clemente: Puerto Rican baseball great -- [5] Hernan Cortes: Spanish explorer -- [6] Ferdinand & Isabella: Spanish monarchs -- [7] Pablo Neruda: Chilean poet and diplomat -- [8] Juan & Evita Peron: President & First Lady of Argentina -- [9] George Santayana: Spanish philosopher and poet -- [10] Pancho Villa: Mexican revolutionary. (ca. 30 min. ea.)
Media CT501 .H67 1995
Hispanic Education at the Crossroads. Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities & Sciences, ©1998.
Examines how Hispanic American children are faring in the educational system, with an emphasis on bilingual education. (ca. 44 min.)
Media E184.S75 H5675 1998
Hispanic Entrepreneurs: Against All Odds. Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities & Sciences, ©1998.
Geraldo Rivera and a host of Hispanic American executives discuss how they overcame racial and financial discrimination to turn their fledgling businesses into million-dollar corporations. Includes interviews with construction mogul Linda Alvarado, owner of the Colorado Rockies football team and the developer of the Simpsons and Garfield cartoon programs. (ca. 44 min.)
Media E184.S75 H5676 1998
Hispanic Magazine's Guide to Hispanic Excellence. [S.l.]: Conrad & Associates, 1993-1994.
Dedicated to the belief that children need positive role models in order to learn and grow, this three-part video series introduces Hispanic students to prominent Hispanics who have attained success in a range of fields. 3 videocassettes (ca. 35 min. each)
Media E184.S75 .H575 1993
Hispanic Women's Contributions (Hispanic Journal I & II). Pasadena, CA: Rod Enterprises, ©1988.
Two programs showing interviews with panels of Hispanic American professional women from the Los Angeles area. (54 min.)
Media E184.S75 H572 1988
Hispanics in the Media. Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities & Sciences, ©1998.
Explores the current role of Hispanics in the media including interviews with Geraldo Rivera, Moctesuma Esparz, David Valdez, Rita Moreno, Elizabeth Peña, Jimmy Smits and Isiah Morales. (44 min.)
Media P94.5.H58 H57 1998
Hispanics: The Changing Role of Women. Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities & Sciences, ©1998.
In this program, several prominent Latina women, including author Isabel Allende, discuss their changing role within the context of Hispanic family values, male machismo, and the traditional role of females as the center of family and community life. Also examines the issue from the male perspective. (ca. 44 min.)
Media E184.S75 H59515 1998
Hispanics, Their Differences: Myth or Fact. Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities & Sciences, ©1998.
Examines the differences and similarities between Hispanics in the United States. Three families are spotlighted; one Puerto Rican, one Mexican American and one Cuban American. Explores how they view themselves and how they view each other. (ca. 44 min.)
Media E184.S75 H595172 1998
El hombre cine Mexicano: Pedro Infante. [S.l.]: Mexcinema Video Corp.; Madera, CA: distributed by Madera CineVideo, 1985.
"Pedro Infante, a quien podemos llamar con justificada razon 'el senor cine Mexicano', interpreta los mas diversos papeles en su vida artistica. Desde el osado y bravo charro Mexicano, hasta el ingenuo y timido indio."--Container. (90 min.)
Main? PN1997.5 .H65 1985
El Hombre, cuando es hombre (A Man, When He's a Man). New York: Women Make Movies, 1982.
A documentary illuminating the social climate and cultural conditions which nurture "machismo" and allow the domination of women by men to flourish in Latin America.
Media HQ18.L29 H65 1982
Home is Struggle: Historias Paralelas. New York: Women Make Movies, 1991.
Film explores the lives of women who have immigrated to the United States from different Latin American countries for very different reasons, economic and political. In sharing their stories they present an absorbing picture of the construction of Latina identity and the immigrant experience. Note In English and Spanish with English subtitles. (37 min.)
Media HQ1410 .H65 1991
Homelessness among Hispanics. Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Inc., ©1991.
Discussion of inadequate housing and substandard public housing among Hispanic Americans and refugees from Central America in the United States. (30 min.)
Media E184.S75 H66 1991
The Hunt for Pancho Villa. Alexandria, VA: PBS Video, ©1993.
A story of the 1916 "Punitive Expedition" into Mexico that failed to capture Pancho Villa and brought the United States and Mexico to the brink of war. (56 min.)
Media F1234 .H85 1993
Images of Mexican Los Angeles: A Social and Cultural History, 1781-1990's. Madera, CA: Madera Cinevideo, ©1991.
"Views of the social and cultural history of the Mexican community of Los Angeles 1781-1990s." (28 min.)
Media F870.M5 I52 1991
In necuepaliztli in Aztlan (Retorno a Aztlán) (Return to Aztlan). México, D.F.: Volcán Producciones, 1992?
In hopes of ending a drought a group of Mexicas gather an offering for the goddess Coatlicue and make the treacherous journey back to Aztlan, the land of their forefathers. In Aztec with English subtitles. (1 hr., 33 min.)
Media PN1997 .I5 1992
In the Shadow of the Law. Berkeley, CA: University of California, Extension Media Center, 1991?
Shows the poor economic and social conditions under which illegal Mexican immigrants exist, in addition to their continual anxiety over possible discovery and deportation. Also shows the typical difficulties encountered in attempting to achieve legal resident status under the provisions of the Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986. (58 min.)
Media KF4704 .I5 1991
Inframundo: entrevista con Juan Rulfo. Hanover, NH: Ediciones del Norte, ©1983.
Mexican author Juan Rulfo is interviewed by Silvia Fuentes and reads from several of his works. (59 min.)
Media PQ7297.R89 Z47 1983
Juntos otra vez. Mexico: BMG Entertainment Mexico, 1997?
Mas ovacionada concierto, teniendo a dos grandes cantantes de la musica mexicana. (73 min.)
Media M1683.18 .J8 1997
Land of the Conquistadores. [Melville, NY?]: Video Knowledge, Inc., ©1998.
Describes the history and culture of the Extremadura region of Spain, which is the ancestoral home of the Conquistadores. Title on container: Extremadura: land of the Conquistadores. (30 min.)
Media DP302 .E83 1998
The Last Zapatista. Ashland, OR: SOSC Media Center Productions, ©1995.
Emilio Zapata, southern leader of the 1910-20 Mexican Revolution, has inspired millions ... and the revolution lives on through this myth. This video tells the history of Zapata and the agrarian revolution he led. Zapata's legacy lives on in old Emeterio Pantaleón, who rode with Zapata. (30 min.)
Media F1234.Z37 L37 1995
Latido Latino: Señas de Identidad. Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities and Sciences, ©2000.
Discusses the influence of Latin American culture in the United States through interviews with more than 50 Latin American immigrants living in New York, including musicians, dancers, artists, and writers. Those interviewed share their personal and professional experiences of being of Latino descent in America. Mostly Spanish with English subtitles. (120 min.)
Media F128.9.S7 L3 2000
Latin and African Americans: Friends or Foes? Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities & Sciences, ©1998.
Explores the tensions and misunderstandings that exist between Latinos and Afro-Americans. (ca. 44 min.)
Media E184.S75 L352 1998
Latin Beat: Latino Culture in the United States see Latido Latino: Señas de Identidad
Latin Boys go to Hell. Santa Monica, CA: Strand Releasing, 2001.
A film about gay Latino men, including drag queens, in love, their various affairs, how their being gay squares with their Catholicism, their families, etc. Chiefly in English; some Spanish with English subtitles. 1 DVD videodisc (71 min.)
Media PN1997 .L374 2001
Latino Artists: Pushing Artistic Boundaries. Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities & Sciences, ©1995.
The first part of this program introduces the founding members of the visual artists/performance group, Asco. The second part of this program visits the Nuyorican Poets Cafe located in the Lower East Side of Manhattan. (30 min.)
Media N7596 .L35 1995
The Latino Family. Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities and Sciences, ©1993.
Traces patterns of migration and cultural changes of three generations of one Mexican-American family. (28 min.)
Media E184.S75 L374 1993
Latino Hollywood: A History of Latino Participation in the Hollywood Film Industry, 1911-1940. Tucson, AZ: Mexican American Studies and Research Center, University of Arizona, ©1994.
Latinos have contributed to the American film industry since its earliest days. During the silent and early talkie era, Latinos were almost always stereotyped as tempestuous lovers, bandidos, or cantina girls. This program remembers many of the early Latino actors and actresses and examines some of the stereotypical roles they portrayed. (31 min.)
Media PN1998.2 .L38 1994
The Lemon Grove Incident. New York: Cinema Guild, ©1985.
Focusing on one of the earliest school desegregation cases, uses dramatizations, archival footage, and recollections of witnesses to examine the response of the Mexican-American community in Lemon Grove, Calif., to a 1930 school board attempt to create a segregated Mexican school in the district. In English and Spanish with English subtitles. (58 min.)
Media LC2688.L47 L466 1985
Lost Soul. New York: Cinema Guild, 1992.
Dramatization of drug use by an hispanic teenager from the barrio of New York City. Despite support from a happy but poor family and attempts to intervene by his parents and siblings, he becomes increasingly addicted to drugs with tragic but realistic consequences. In Spanish and English. (37 min.)
Media HV5824.E85 L6 1992
The Lost World of the Maya. New York?: WinStar Home Entertainment, 1997.
Examines the Lacandones, the descendants of the great Mayan civilization. (ca. 50 min.)
Media F1465.2.L2 L67 1997
Luis Valdez and El Teatro Campesino. Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities, 1993.
Bettina Gray interviews Luis Valdez, the celebrated founder of the Teatro Campesino, the West Coast theatrical group that has given voice to the struggles of Chicano farm workers. As a child, Valdez picked fruit alongside his father in California's fertile valleys. In this program, he describes how he became a playwright and director and explains how his plays retrace the experience of Chicano families. (26 min.)
Media PN2270.M48 B47 1993
Making Tamales in the Southwest: With University of Arizona Home Economists. Tucson, AZ: University of Arizona, [19--]
A demonstration of how to make tamales. (16 min.)
Media TX716.M6 M35 1900z
A Man, When He's a Man, SEE El Hombre, cuando es hombre
Marketing Disease to Hispanics: The Selling of Alcohol and Tobacco. Washington, DC: Latino Council on Alcohol and Tobacco, 1992.
"Marketing disease to Hispanics examines the pervasive influence of the alcohol and tobacco industries in the Latino community and the devastating effects alcohol and tobacco are having on their lives...exposes the industries' advertising tactics and how these disease promoting corporations are trying to influence Latino community leaders and the Latino media"--Container back. 1 videocassette (16 min.) + 1 guide (16 p. ; 22 cm.)
Media RA448.5.H57 M37 1992
Masks of Mexico. Albuquerque: KNME-TV; Tellens, Inc. [distributor], ©1998.
Explores the ritual use of masks in Mexico dating back to the Aztec priests and warriors, and the influence of Spanish friars who used masks to spread the teachings of Christianity. Shows community celebrations where masks help preserve cultural traditions. Includes footage of the Day of the Dead (Acatlan, Puebla), Corpus Christi (Suchiapa, Chiapas), and Winter Ceremonies (San Lorenzo, Michoacan). (18 min.)
Media F1219.3.M4 M37 1998
Memorias de un Mexicano. Madera, CA: Madera Cinevideo, ©1985. (45 min.) Media F1233.5 .M4513 1985
Memories of Tata. New York: Cinema Guild, 1993.
Traces the creation and dissolution of the Adam Morales family. Adam Morales describes his relationships with his wife, his daughters, and with other women. Morales' wife and daughters give their own account of why they severed their ties with Mr. Morales due to his acts of physical abuse and sexual adultery. (51 min.)
HQ809 .M45 1993
La mera frontera. Cardiff, CA: [s.n.], 1997.
A journalist seeking the story of Maria Esquivel talks to the survivors of the 1918 Nogales border clash between the United States and Mexico. Uses interviews, historical accounts, and dramatization to relate the story. (89 min.)
Media PN1997.5 .M47 1997
Mexicanos al grito de guerra. Madera, CA: Madera Cinevideo [distributor], 1986.
The Mexican War provides background for the writing of the Mexican national hymn. (90 min.)
Media PN1997.5 .M49 1986
Mexico. Chicago, IL: Films Incorporated, 1989.
Presents the political history of Mexico from the Mexican revolution to the 1988 presidential elections. Contents Pt. 1. Revolution : 1910-1940 (58 min.) -- Pt. 2. From boom to dust : 1940-1982 (58 min.) -- Pt. 3. End of an era : 1982-1988 (58 min.). In English and Spanish. 3 videocassettes (174 min.) + 1 viewer guide
Media F1234 .M46 1989
Mexico: Rebellion of the Llorona. Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities & Sciences, 1997.
Examines life in Mexico through the eyes of its women. (60 min.)
Media F1236 .M495 1997
Mi Vida: The Three Worlds of Maria Gutierrez. Capitola, CA: Gold Mountain Productions, ©1986.
Describes, in her own words, how Maria Gutierrez, through her own determination, rose from being the daughter of Mexican farm laborers, laboring along with her parents after they all migrated to California from Mexico, to working toward her degree at the University of California, Santa Cruz. (28 min.)
Media F870.M5 M42 1986
Mi Vida Loca (My Crazy Life). New York: HBO Home Video, ©1994.
Feature Film by Allison Anders. The members of rival Latino gangs in Los Angeles are feuding, and the girl friends are trying to stay out of the struggle for power and survive. Starring Angel Aviles, Seidy Lopez, Jacob Vargas, Panchito Gomez, Jesse Borrego. (100 min.)
Media PN1997 .M4363 1994
Miles from the Border. New Day Films, ©1987.
(15 min.)
Media F869.L89 M482 1987b
Los Mineros. Washington, DC: PBS Video, ©1991.
Shows and tells the history, spanning nearly fifty years, of the Mexican American miners in the Morenci and Clifton region, Arizona, and their union's battle non-discriminatory, fair labor practices in the copper industry. (58 min.)
Media HD8081.M6 M56 1991
Miraculous World, SEE Mundo Milagroso
Monumentos del México antiguo. Huntsville, TX: Educational Video Network, ©1990.
In Spanish. (25 min.) + 1 study guide.
Media F1219 .M66 1990
Mujeres de America Latina. Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities, ©1995.
This series looks at Latin America through its women, a drastic change from the usual Latin American protagonists. The women in these programs come from all walks of life: women who transport drugs across borders for their men, mothers searching for their disappeared sons and lovers, as well as women teachers, engineers, ministers, and political leaders. 13 videocassettes (780 min.)
Media HQ1460.5 .M85 1995
Mundo Milagroso (Miraculous World). New York: Filmakers Library, ©1995.
An exploration of the mixture of Spanish Catholicism and Indian mysticism found in Texan communities along the Rio Grande River, where various saints and religious figures have made appearances to a receptive public. In English and Spanish. (27 min.)
Media F392.R5 M86 1995
La Música de la Gente (The Music of the People). Derry, NH: Chip Taylor Communications, 1993, ©1980.
The popular music of the Hispanic south-west is today's expression of traditional rhythms and contemporary Latin sounds. This program is a glimpse at the music played in the dance halls, state fairs and the plazas. (28 min.)
Media M1629.7.N57 M87 1993
La Música de los Viejos (Music of the Old Ones). Santa Fe, NM: Public Media, 1984.
Songs in Spanish with English translation on screen. (30 min.)
Media M1629 .M82 1984
My Crazy Life, SEE Mi Vida Loca
My Family (Mi Familia). Atlanta: Turner Home Entertainment, 1995.
Feature Film. Presents the three-generation saga of the Sanchez family as told by the eldest son. From the beginnings of his father's journey from Mexico to California in the 1920s, to his brother Chucho's tragic rebellion of the 1950s, to the stark realities of modern day, the struggle to live the American dream is sometimes darkened but never diminished for Paco Sanchez and his family. Starring Jimmy Smits, Esai Morales, Eduardo Lopez Rojas, Jenny Gago, Elpidia Carrillo, Enrique Castillo, Constance Marie, Edward James Olmos, Lupe Ontiveros, Jacob Vargas, Jennifer Lopez, Maria Canals, Leon Singer, Michael D. Lorenzo, Jonathan Hernandez. In English and Spanish with English subtitles. (121 min.)
Media PN1997 .M893 1995
My Film Making, My Life. Mexico City, Mexico: IMEVISION for Channel Four Television; New York: Distributed by Women Make Movies, 1990.
Matilde Landeta discusses her life as a film producer and director in Mexico. Interviews in Spanish with English subtitles. (30 min.)
Media PN1998.3.L3 M9 1990
Mythology of Ancient Mexico. Huntsville, TX: Educational Video Network, ©1991.
Discusses the succession of civilizations in prehistoric Mexico and traces the development of various gods and goddesses from one culture to the next. Shows how the civilizations of Mexico integrated their religious beliefs into their everyday lives. (19 min.) + 1 guide.
Media F1219.3.R38 M97 1991
Natives: Immigrant Bashing on the Border. New York: Filmaker's Library, 1991.
Documentary on the xenophobia of some Americans living in California along the U.S.-Mexican border. Reacting to the influx of undocumented aliens, who they believe are draining community resources and committing crimes, they are forming nativist organizations in an attempt to keep potential immigrants out. (28 min.)
Media HT1521 .N37 1991
Neighbors: The U.S. and Mexico. Los Angeles: Cinema Guild, 1985.
Presents the economic crisis in Mexico, its effects on the U.S. economy -- the banks, the automobile industry and immigration. (ca. 60 min.)
Media HC133 .N44 1985
The New Tijuana. San Diego, CA: KPBS, ©1990.
A brief history shows the development of Tijuana, Mexico, from a very small village to a modern city of more than 2,000,000 population; emphasizes the relatively recent social, economic and political changes. Note Some interviewee responses in Spanish with English subtitles. (57 min., 50 sec.)
Media F1391.T5 N48 1990
New World Border. Berkeley, CA: Peek Media, 2001.
Documents the rise in human rights abuses along the U.S./Mexico border since the implementation of border blockades (Operation Gatekeeper), which have been erected in populated areas throughout the border region during the last decade. Includes interviews with immigrant rights organizers, testimony from immigrants, analysis of "free trade" policies and current efforts to build a vibrant movement for immigrant rights. In English and Spanish with English subtitles. (28 min.)
Media JV6483 .N4 2001
North American Free Trade: Who's Gonna Pay? Minneapolis, MN: Produced by Labor Education Service, University of Minnesota, ©1992.
Examines problems with free trade agreements with United States, Canada, and Mexico as they pertain to worker's rights, jobs, the environment and the economy. (29:50 min.)
Media HF1766 .N677 1992
Octavio Paz. Los Angeles: Lannan Foundation, ©1988.
"Octavio Paz, the foremost poet of Latin America, reads at Georgetown University in Washington, D.C., and is interviewed by Lewis MacAdams"--Container. Readings in Spanish with English subtitles. (60 min.)
Media PQ7297.P285 A6 1988
Octavio Paz: An Uncommon Poet. Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities, 1979.
Mexican poet Octavio Paz talks about his childhood, his activities as a political activist, and his views on poets, poetry, and language. (29 min.)
Media PQ7297.P285 O29
Octavio Paz: An Uncommon Poet. Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities, ©1988.
Paz, dean of Latin American writers and intellectuals, reveals his thoughts on poets, poetry and language, discusses his career as a political observer and activist, and draws sharp distinctions between politics and poetry (and between politicians and poets). (29 min.)
Media PQ7297.P285 O29 1988
Octavio Paz: Mexico's Muse, SEE Biografía: The Lives of Latin American Writers
La Ofrenda: The Days of the Dead. San Francisco: Xochitl Film Productions, 1989.
Presents a non-traditional look at the ceremonies and rituals observed in the Mexican culture, in both Mexico and the U.S., to celebrate the Days of the Dead (Nov. 1 & 2). (50 min.)
Media GR455 .O44 1989
Other Side of the Fence: Mexican Border Towns (Copper State Chronicles). [S.l.]: Phelps Dodge Corporation, ©1993. (26 min.) Media F811 .C77 1993
El Otro Lado (The Other Side). Clintondale, NY: Bleak Beauty Video, 1978, ©1979.
Documentary film about Mexican farmworkers and their struggle to cross the U.S. border into Arizona. Spanish, with English subtitles. (60 min.)
Media KF4704 .O87 1978
Pancho Villa: Outlaw Hero. New York: New Video Group [distributor], ©1997. (50 min.) Media F1234.V63 P36 1997
Pancho Villa's Columbus Raid. New York: Cinema Guild, 1983.
The last major invasion of American soil by a foreign army was that of Pancho Villa in 1916. The story of this raid and of General John J. Pershing's eleven-month retaliatory expedition into northern Mexico to capture Villa are recounted through interviews with five survivors. (26 min.)
Media F1234 .P32 1983
Parents and Schools: Success through Partnership. Santa Rosa, CA: Arthur Mokin Productions, ©1990.
Highlights the importance of school systems and parents working together to enhance the successful and enjoyable school experiences of Hispanic students. (13 min.)
Media LC2669 .P37 1990
Performing the Border. New York: distributed by Women Make Movies, ©1999.
Examines socioeconomic problems of the Mexican-American border region, focusing on hardships faced by women in newly urbanized areas. In English and Spanish with English subtitles. (43 min.)
Media HQ1462 .B54 1999
The Ragged Revolution: The Romance and the Reality of the Mexican Revolution, 1910 to 1920. New York: Cinema Guild [distributor], 1987?
Discusses the history of Mexico between 1910 to 1920 during the revolution. (37 min.)
Media F1234 .R153 1987
Reed, Mexico Insurgenté. Los Angeles: Meridian Video: Connoisseur Video Collection: Mirada, 1995, ©1973.
A dramatization of John Reed's accounts of the Mexican Revolution; the young journalist's adventures with Pancho Villa's army in 1913-1914 are depicted. Spanish dialogue, English subtitles. (104 min.)
Media PN1997 .R436 1995
The River in the Desert. Brookline, MA: Umbrella Films, ©1990.
The story of the harnessing of the Colorado River to provide water for the desert areas of the Southwest. (29 min)
Media F788 .R58 1990
A Rising Voice. Salt Lake City: KUED Home Video, ©1991.
Explores the culture and legacy of Hispanics living in Utah. Also discusses how they are succeeding in a state where the majority does not share their religion, culture, or language. Examines, finally, the history of hispanic immigration, the rich diversity of culture and its contributions, as well as the challenges facing Hispanic Utahns today. (58 min.)
Media F835.S75 R58 1991
Sacred Games: Ritual Warfare in a Maya Village. Berkeley, CA: University of California, Extension Media Center, ©1988.
Presents how the Maya people see the world and how their symbolic world is renewed in the annual carnival celebrations. (ca. 75 min.)
Media M1992 .S66 1962 Media F1435.3.R3 S33 1988
Los Santeros. Santa Fe, NM: Blue Sky Productions 1979.
Focuses on the traditional New Mexican form of art creations known as santos, saints' figures carved from wood. Discusses the artistic origins of the figures, the symbols and attributes typical of santos, and the resurgence in interest and support of this craft in recent decades. (28 min.)
Media NK9712 .S2 1979
Una Segunda Vista (A Second Look: Arizona's Hispanic Heritage). Phoenix: William McCune Productions for Television, ©1992.
History of the Spanish and Mexican presence in Arizona from the early explorations to the present. Interviews with leading Arizona citizens of hispanic descent tell of their cultural background, struggles, and contributions. (ca. 98 min.)
Media F820.M5 S43 1992
Sexuality in Mesoamerica: Machismo and Marianismo. Tucson, AZ?: A. Moises, ©1992.
A study of the concept of sexuality in Mexico and Central America, focusing on the cultural archetypes of machismo and marianismo. (33 min.)
Media BF692.2 .S49 1992
Sky Chief. Berkeley, CA: University of California Extension Media Center, 197-?
Documentary shows the cultural and economic clash of different forces and the resulting ecological damage in Latin America, pointing out the collusion and conflict among an international petroleum consortium, a Latin American government, mestizo settlers and traders, and the indigenous people. (30 min.)
Media HD9574 .S59 1972
Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz. Huntsville, TX: Educational Video, 199?
Recounts the life and times of Sister Juana Inés de la Cruz, a 17th century nun, scholar, and an outstanding lyric poet of Mexico's colonial period. (30 min.)
Media PQ7296.J6 S67 1990z
Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz: la decima musa. San Antonio, TX: Babbitt Instructional Resources, ©1999.
Describes the life of Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz, the places associated with her, the importance of her works, and problems faced by women in the 17th century. (18 min.) + 1 sound cassette + 1 teacher guidebook + 1 student guidebook
Media PQ7296.J6 Z92 1999
The Spanish Conquest of Mexico. Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities and Sciences, 1999.
Historians survey political, cultural, and religious aspects of Aztec civilization, analyze Cortés' military campaign in detail; and discuss Spanish influences on Mexican culture. Artwork, artifacts, 3-D models, and excerpts from the writings of Bernal Diaz add depth to this penetrating study of Spanish opportunism in the New World.
Media F1210 .S63 1999
Street Life: Inside America's Gangs. Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities & Sciences, ©1999.
Police estimate that there are 31,000 gangs currently operating in the U.S. with more than 800,000 members, many of whom are female. ABC News correspondent Cynthia McFadden interviews female members of two Los Angeles gangs, the Drifters and Tepa 13. Correspondent John Quinones talks with King Tone, radical leader of New York City's notorious Latin Kings. Unscripted video footage shot by members of these three gangs provides a glimpse of life inside the net that is snaring young people all across the U.S. (43 min.)
Media HV6439.U5 S77 1999
Los Tejedores. Santa Fe, NM: Blue Sky Productions: Onewest Media [distributor] ©1979.
Presents traditional weaving methods of Hispanic New Mexico and shows examples of Spanish weaving from the 18th and 19th centuries. (28 min.)
Media TT848 .T44 1979
Tinwork of Northern New Mexico. Santa Fe, NM: OneWest Media, 1986?
The almost lost craft of tinwork is demonstrated by a northern New Mexico couple. (14 min.)
Media NK8425 .T55 1986
Tremors in Guzman. Berkeley, CA: University of California Extension Media Center, ©1988.
A documentary which takes the viewer out on the streets of Ciudad Guzman, a small agricultural city south of Guadalajara, to learn what everyday Mexicans think about the state of their country, its economy, and its political leaders. Shows that many of the same problems fueling revolt elsewhere in Central America--corrupt government officials, uncontrolled inflation, economic hardship, and high unemployment--also exist in Mexico. (30 min.)
Media HC135 .T73 1988
The U.S. in Latin America: Yankee Go Home (20th century with Mike Wallace). New York: A&E Home Video, ©1998.
Looks at the relationship between the US and Latin America. (50 min.)
Media F1418 .T9 1998
U.S. Mexican War, 1846-1848. Alexandra, VA: Distributed by PBS Video, ©1998.
The U.S. Mexican War (1846-1848) tells the dramatic story of a war in which Mexico lost almost half of its national territory -- including all of the states of the present American Southwest -- to the United States. This critically acclaimed documentary series explores the events surrounding the conflict between two neighboring nations struggling for land, power and identity. 4 videocassettes (240 min.) + Index.
Media E404 .U55 1998
Uneasy Neighbors. Berkeley, CA: University of California Extension Media Center, ©1989.
Through dialogue, interviews and narration, shows the living conditions, hopes and fears of Mexican migrant labor families living in camps in north San Diego County. More than 150 camps have been closed since 1985, as residential subdivisions for the affluent are established in these once isolated areas. Mostly Spanish with English subtitles; narration in English. (35 min., 10 sec.)
Media HD6305.M4 U54 1989
The Unholy Tarahumara. New York: Filmakers Library, 1998.
Documents the ways of the Tarahumara Indians of Chihuahua, Mexico, who are torn between the lure of modern life and maintaining their age-old traditions. (56 min.)
Media F1221.T25 U5 1998
Un Vistazo a las culturas prehispanicas de Mexico. Huntsville, TX: Educational Video, ©1989.
Profiles the various civilizations of pre-Colombian Mexico, and discusses their influence on contemporary Mexican culture. Commentary in Spanish. (26 min.) + study sheet.
Media F1219 .V57 1989
Viva La Causa!: 500 Years of Chicano History. 500 Years of Chicano History. San Francisco, CA: Collision Course Video Productions, ©1995.
An introduction to the history of the Mexican American people from their origins in Europe's invasion of the American continent up through World War II, through the Chicano Movement years to the present day. Includes archival footage and lively music ranging from corridos to rap. Based on the book 500 years of Chicano history in pictures by Elizabeth Martínez. (56 min.)
Media E184.M5 V58 1995
Voices From the Fields = Voces del Campo. [S.l.]: The Cinema Guild, 1995.
Documentary follows farmworkers from California's Salinas Valley back to their roots in the fields of rural Mexico, where they recount their everyday struggle to cope in the midst of the globalization of agriculture and the impact of NAFTA. The video examines rural development projects that work with farmers to develop an agriculture base on people not profits. In Spanish with English subtitles. (45 min.)
Media HD1792 .V575 1995
Voices in the Stones. Chicago: Public Media Education, 1995, ©1992.
Dr. Linda Schele of the University of Texas takes Bill Kurtis to Copán, Honduras, and back more than 1,000 years into the pre-Columbian culture of the Maya. (28 min.) + 1 teacher's guide
Media F1435 .V55 1995
The Walls of Mexico: Art and Architecture. Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities & Sciences, ©1996.
Looks at the wall paintings of some of the most famous Mexican muralists -- Diego Rivera, Juan O'Gorman, José Clemente Orozco -- and at the work of Luis Barragán, the greatest Mexican architect of this century. (56 min.)
Media NA2159.B37 W45 1996
Where Did the Colorado Go? Washington, DC: Public Television Library, ©1974.
Considers the destructive effects of damming and regulation of the Colorado River. Examines the problems resulting from man's alteration of nature and discusses alternative solutions offered by conservation-oriented scientists. (60 min.)
Media F788 .W5 1974
Women of Hope: Latinas Abriendo Camino: 12 Ground Breaking Latina Women. Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities [distributor], ©1996.
Uses interviews, news and archival film, music and literature to show prominent Hispanic American women (Latinas) who made a difference. Note In English and Spanish with English subtitles. Interviewees include Julia Alvarez, Sandra Cisneros, Miriam Colón, Antonia Hernández, Dolores Huerta, Tania León, Amalia Mesa-Bains, Adriana Ocampo, Antonia Pantoja, Helen Rodríguez-Trias, Ana Sol Gutiérrez, and Nydia Velázquez. (29 min.)
Media E184.S75 W65 1996
World Beat: Great Decisions in Foreign Policy, pt.3 Mexico and the U.S. Alexandria, VA: PBS Video, ©1988.
Series of programs discussing various problems in foreign relations facing the United States. 8 videocassettes (220 min.)
Media E183.7 .W87 1988 pt.3
Yuma Crossing. Yuma, AZ: Yuma Crossing Foundation, ©1989.
Traces the rich historical and cultural significance of the river crossing at the confluence of the Colorado and Gila rivers in southwestern Arizona, first settled by the Quechan people more than 1000 years ago. (30 min.)
Media E99.Y94 Y85 1989

 

Media Collection: Videos: Documentaries and Interviews | Videos: Feature Films | Sound recordings | 16mm films
Southwest Folklore Collection: Spoken Recordings | Music: Native Peoples | Music: Collections | Music: Mexican, A-G | H-Z

HOME | Mexican-American Studies Subject Guide | SABIO Information Gateway (UA Library)

 

Created by Ninfa Trejo and Lisa Waite Bunker, Social Sciences Librarians. Maintained by Ninfa Trejo.
Last updated June 24, 2002

Copyright ©2002 Arizona Board of Regents. All rights reserved.