Interviews and Spoken Recordings:
Archival Recordings for Mexican-American Studies at the University of Arizona Library

 

 

Media Collection: Videos: Documentaries and Interviews | Videos: Feature Films | Sound recordings | 16mm films
Southwest Folklore Collection: Spoken Recordings | Music: Native Peoples | Music: Collections | Music: Mexican, A-G | H-Z
HOME

Access: These materials are held in the UA Library's Southwest Folklore Center Archives, in Special Collections.
This collection consists of recordings of oral history interviews collected by the Center before 1980,
and includes recordings on vinyl made in 33-1/3 rpm formats.

Library use only; no duplication allowed.

 

Interviews and Spoken Recordings
Name Title Content Notes Where & When Recorded Format Call Number
Armenta, Sr. Guadalupe [Pre-1980 Interview] Sound disc contains continuation of interview with Mr. Guadalupe Armenta by Vicente S. Acosta on gaucho slang. Tucson, AZ 1 sound disc, analog, 12 in. SWF 007: SWF PRE1980.1/D.106
Diamos de Grazia, Alexandra [Pre-1980 Interview] Continuation of interview with Alexandra Diamos de Grazia about Mexican tales and legends. In English. Songs include: El Tejano -- El Merino -- Collector: Magdalena Diamos. Tucson, AZ, [April 15, 1956] 1 sound disc, analog, 33 1/3 rpm, 12 in. SWF 007: SWF PRE1980.1/D.128
Diamos de Grazia, Alexandra [Pre-1980 Interview] Continuation of Alexandra Diamos de Grazia interview about Mexican folktales and legends in Tucson. Interview in English. Songs include: El Tejano -- El Merino -- San Xavier -- Collector: Magdalena Diamos Tucson, AZ, April 15, 1956 1 sound disc, analog, 33 1/3 rpm, 12 in. SWF 007: SWF PRE1980.1/D.129
Elias, Araella F., Sra. Refrigio Aguirre Elias, Juan Elias Marcos, and Alfred Elias [Pre-1980 Interview] Interview in four parts. Continuation of interview of a party at her house about old-time Mexican remedies, tales, festival customs, foods, etc. Interview in Spanish and English. Recorded by Aravelea F. Elias. Tucson, AZ, May, 1956 1 sound disc, analog, 33 1/3 rpm, 12 in. SWF 007: SWF PRE1980.1/D.126
Elias, Aravella F. [Pre-1980 Interview] Continuation of Aravella F. Elias interview about old-time Mexican remedies, tales, festival customs, and foods in Tucson. Interview in Spanish with some English. Recorded by Aravella F. Elias. Tucson, AZ, May, 1956 1 sound disc, analog, [33 1/3 rpm], 12 in. SWF 007: SWF PRE1980.1/D.127
Espinosa de Garcia, Mrs. Matilde [Pre-1980 Interview] Continuation of interview with Mrs. Matilde Espinosa de Garcia about Yaqui and Sonoran tales and legends. In Spanish. Interview complete in seven parts. Collector: Magdalena Diamos Tucson, AZ, May, 1956 1 sound disc, analog, [33 1/3 rpm], 12 in. SWF 007: SWF PRE1980.1/D.133
Espinosa de Garcia, Mrs. Matilde [Pre-1980 Interview] Continuation of interview with Mrs. Matilde Espinosa de Garcia about Yaqui and Sonoran tales and legends. In Spanish. Interview complete in seven parts. Collector: Magdalena Diamos Tucson, AZ, May, 1956 1 sound disc, analog, [33 1/3 rpm], 12 in. SWF 007: SWF PRE1980.1/D.134
Rejon, Marciana and Norma Santa Ana [Pre-1980 Interview] Miss Marciana Rejon talks about tales and legends from Colina, Guaymas and Tucson, in Spanish. Interview complete in three parts. Miss Norma Santa Ana tells a story from Springer, New Mexico, in English. Collector: Magdalena Diamos Tucson, AZ, May, 1956 1 sound disc, analog, 33 1/3 rpm, 12 in. SWF 007: SWF PRE1980.1/D.131
Richards, A.L., Mrs. A.L. Richards, and Marciana Rejon [Pre-1980 Interview] Continuation of Mr. and Mrs. A.L. Richards interview about tales and legends from Sonora (Mexico) and Tucson. Marciana Rejon talks about tales and legends from Colima, Guaymas and Tucson. Interview complete in three parts. In Spanish. Collector: Magdalena Diamos Tucson, AZ, May, 1956 1 sound disc, analog, 33 1/3 rpm, 12 in. SWF 007: SWF PRE1980.1/D.130
Rios, Margot and Julia Ortega [Pre-1980 Interview] Interview complete in two parts. Margot Rios tells stories from Nogales and Sonora, in English. El en cuentro del Sr. Pimienta con El Diablo -- La Muchacha emtorujada -- Las Tres manos. Julia Ortega tells the Sonoran story, El Diablo de la montaņa. Collector: Magdalena Diamos Tucson, AZ, May, 1956 1 sound disc, analog, [33 1/3 rpm], 12 in. SWF 007: SWF PRE1980.1/D.132
Rosenthal, Mrs. Eva and Sr. Matilde Espinosa de Garcia [Pre-1980 Narratives] The Black dog as devil -- El Tesoro de Indio (Mrs. Eva Rosenthal, Sonora) -- El Tesora de General (Mrs. Eva Rosenthal, Sonora) -- Girl from Douglas and poltergeist -- Crucifix in Magdalena -- Conclusion of interview with Sr. Matilde Espinosa de Garcia -- Collector: Magdalena Diamos Tucson, AZ, May, 1956 1 sound disc, analog, 33 1/3 rpm, 12 in. SWF 007: SWF PRE1980.1/D.136

 

Media Collection: Videos: Documentaries and Interviews | Videos: Feature Films | Sound recordings | 16mm films
Southwest Folklore Collection: Spoken Recordings | Music: Native Peoples | Music: Collections | Music: Mexican, A-G | H-Z

HOME | Mexican-American Studies Subject Guide | SABIO Information Gateway (UA Library)

 

Created by Ninfa Trejo and Lisa Waite Bunker, Social Sciences Librarians. Maintained by Ninfa Trejo.
Last updated June 24, 2002

Copyright ©2002 Arizona Board of Regents. All rights reserved.