Music of the Native Peoples of the Borderlands
(Mexico & U.S.):
|
|
| Media
Collection: Videos: Documentaries and Interviews
| Videos: Feature Films | Sound
recordings | 16mm films Southwest Folklore Collection: Spoken Recordings | Music: Native Peoples | Music: Collections | Music: Mexican, A-G | H-Z |
|
Press the Enter key to see subsequent "hits" on your
keyword.
|
| Music of the Native Peoples of the Borderlands (Mexico & U.S.) | |||||
| Performer(s) | Title(s) | Content Notes | Recording Studio | Format | Spec. Coll. Call Number |
| An Anthology of Papago traditional music: Volume I | Collected and recorded by J. Richard Haefer. Singers Lorenzo Pablo, Joaquin Garcia, Frances Manuel, and Emma Francisco. First chelkona dance song -- Last chelkona dance song -- A woman's song -- Widow's dream song -- The song of the sea gull -- The song of the coyote -- Mountain song -- Blackbird song -- Echo song -- The cowboy ant -- Women's game (toka) song -- Songs heard by sick man -- The twister song (doajida) -- Owl song (wusota) -- Horse song (wusota) -- Wine song (gohimeli). | Phoenix AZ: Canyon Records, p1972 | 1 sound disc, analog, 33 1/3 rpm, 12 in. | SWF 008: SWF 87.12/D.33 (12in.) | |
| Chicken scratch fiesta | Oh Suzannah (The American Indians with Alex Gomez) -- Cosita linda cumbia (Elvin Kelly y Los Reyes) -- Moonshine polka (The Blood Brothers) -- El conrabando del paso (El Conjunto Murrietta) -- Truquero polka (Elvin Kelly y Los Reyes) -- Mucho te quiero chote (The Molinas) -- Ay mi yaquicita (El Conjunto Murrietta) -- Dry gulch polka (Santan) -- Sacaton chote (The Molinas) -- Ending song (The American Indians with John Manuel). | Phoenix AZ: Canyon Records, p1981 | 1 sound disc, analog, 33 1/3 rpm, 12 in. | SWF 008: SWF 87.12/D.47 (12in.) | |
| Cora | Archive of American Folk Song. Recorded at Jesus Maria, Nayarit, Mexico, 1944, by Henrietta Yurchenco. Son del elote -- Son del vanado -- Son de la siembra (sung with mitote by E. Altamirano) -- Son de cuaresma (played on reed flute by M. Cabrales) -- Son de semana Santa (palyed on reed flute and drum by C. Silverio and M. Daniel) -- | The Library of Congress Division of Music Recording Laboratory, [1944] | 1 sound disc, analog, 12 in. | SWF 007: SWF PRE1980.1/D.185 | |
| Huichol | Archive of American Folk Song. Recorded at Huilotita, Jalisco, Mexico, 1944, by Henrietta Yurchenco. Fiesta del peyote (sung by J. de la Cruz and dancers) -- Fiesta de la Calabaza (sung with huehuetl by J. de la Cruz and assistants) -- Fiesta de los enfermos (sung by P. Gonzales and assistants) | The Library of Congress Division of Music Recording Laboratory, [1944] | 1 sound disc, analog, 10 in. | SWF 007: SWF PRE-1980.1/D.188 (10in.) | |
| Papago dance songs: Anthology of Papago tradtional music, Volume II | J. Richard Haefer, editor. Singers: Jose Pancho, Baptista Lopez, Mary Lopez, and Eva Lopez. Chelkona dance: Green I'itoi (chehdag I'itoi) -- Children, come follow me (oijkam ahpa) -- Ocean white birds -- Geese birds -- Black mountain (chuk do'ag) -- White foam mountain (totshagi do'ag) -- Whistling mountain -- Going back song (uhpam wahk ne'i) -- Keihina dance: Wash mountain (Aji do'ag) -- Low-laying mountain -- Dome-shaped mountain -- The Fields of San Simon -- Ajo mountain -- The Mountains of southwest of Pisinimo -- Whistling mountain -- The Flood (wi'indag). SWF 008: SWF 87.12/D.34 (12in.) | Phoenix AZ: Canyon Records, p1973 | 1 sound disc, analog, 33 1/3 rpm, 12 in. | ||
| Songs of the Papago | Archive of American Folk Song Recorded and edited by Frances Densmore. Copied from cylinders recorded in 1920, Smithsonian-Densmore Collection from the Archives of American Folk Song. Songs connected with legends: Song of Earth magician (Jose Hendricks) -- Song of brown buzzard (Mattias Hendricks) -- Song before emerging from ashes hill (Hendricks) -- Song to put the eagle to sleep (Sivariano Garcia) -- Sound of the Old Woman (Garcia) -- Four fires on the ground (Garcia) -- The girls are approaching (Garcia) -- Song to make the boy invisible (Garcia) -- Songs connected with ceremonies: The dwelling place of the sun (Leonardo Rios) -- Each singer wears a white feather (Jose Manuel) -- Song of the Watchers (Hendricks) -- Song during rain divination (Hendricks) -- A blue wind (Rafael Mendez) -- Songs connected with expeditions to obtain salt: The wind blows from the sea (Hendricks) -- Songs connected to the treatment of the sick: Sandy loam fields (Jose Panco) -- Out of the mountains (Panco) -- Song to a little yellow wasp (Mendez) -- Song of the dawn (Mendez) -- Dream songs: White mountain birds (Victoria) -- A black crow (Victoria) -- War songs: Song concerning a wounded Apache (Mendez) -- The little captive children (Victoria) -- The eagle is talking (Garcia) -- Song of the kicking-ball race: We must run (Hendricks) -- Miscellaneous: I met a Mexican (Juana Maria). | Washington, D.C.: The Library of Congress Music Division - Recording Laboratory | 1 sound disc, analog, [33 1/3 rpm], 12 in. | SWF 008: SWF 87.12/D.32 (12in.) | |
| Songs of the Yuma, Cocopa, and Yaqui | Archive of Folk Song Recorded and edited by Frances Densmore. Copied from cylinders recorded before 1915. Smithsonian-Densmore Collection from the Archive of American Folk Song. Yuma deer dance songs performed by Alfred Golding: The Water bug on the mountain -- The Water bug sees a fish -- The Water bug stands upon the fish -- The Water bug wanders forever beside the sea -- Then dance of the blackbirds is completed -- Song of the nighthawk -- Yaqui deer dance songs performed by Juan Ariwares: The Little fly -- The Summer rains -- The Rising sun -- Cocopa bird dance songs performed by Numa 'wasoa't: Song in the early evening -- Song at about midnight -- Song concerning the diver -- Song in the early morning -- Yuma Ca 'Koramu's dance song performed by Katco'ra: Song concerning the lark and the diver -- Cocopa Tcumanpa 'Xwa dance song performed by Mike Barley: Dancing song -- Yuma lightning songs, songs used in the treatment of the sick, and songs with cremation legend performed by Charles Wilson: White Cloud demonstrates his power -- Song concerning the ocean -- Song when treating the sick -- Song concerning the wildcat -- Cocopa songs with cremation legend performed by Clam: The illness of the superman -- The superman speaks -- The four corners of the earth -- Coyote comes to the cremation of the superman -- Coyote makes a request. | Washington, D.C.: The Library of Congress Music Division Recording Laboratory, 1951 | 1 sound disc, analog, [33 1/3 rpm], 12 in. | SWF 008: SWF 87.12/D.37 (12in.) | |
| Spanish and Mexican Folk Music of New Mexico | Matachines dances (James Trujillo, Sam and Modesto Garcia) -- Huapango (Garcilian Pacheco) -- Entriega de novios (Felix Ortega) -- Polka (Librado Leyba and Eddie Ortiz) -- La Luna se va matiendo (Alfred Campos and Edwin Lobato) -- Cuatro caminos -- (Alfred Campos and Edwin Lobato) -- El Zapatero (Arthur L. Campa) -- Grasshopper waltz (Daniel Lopez) -- Cancion Ingles (Jacobo Maestas) -- Hymn of farewell (Congregation with violin and guitar) -- Corrido de Elena (Felix Ortega and Consuela Ortega) -- Jesusita (Vidal Valdez and Lupe Rodriguez) -- Para que me sirvo el vino (Daniel Lopez and Lupe Rodriguez) -- Trova del viego vilmas (Arvino Martinez) -- Cuna (Jacobo Maestras and Victor Frescas). Ethnic Folkways Library. Recorded by J.D. Robb in New Mexico. | New York: Folkways Records & Service Corp., p1952 | 1 sound disc, analog, 33 1/3 rpm, 12 in. |
SWF 007: SWF PRE1980.1/D.269 |
|
| Tarahumara | Archive of American Folk Song. Recorded at Guachochic, Chihuahua, Mexico, 1946, by Henrietta Yurchenco. Yumari (sung with accompaniment of rattle by P. Cruz) -- Dutuburi -- Yumari (sung with accompaniment of rattle by H. Ramos). | The Library of Congress Division of Music Recording Laboratory, [1946] | 1 sound disc, analog, 10 in. | SWF 007: SWF PRE-1980-1/D.187 (10in.) | |
| Traditional Pima dance songs | Recorded by Raymond Boley. Side 1, singers: Leonard Carlos, Dorothy Lewis, Michael Lewis, Russell Morgan, and Salt River Basket Dancers. Basket dance -- Coming out dance -- Crippled dance -- Swing dance -- Bats cave -- Owl feather -- Point dance -- Whirlwind -- Ku-ki-wa -- Quail dance -- Black cloud -- Going home dance -- Side 2, singers: Blaine Pablo, Frank Kisto, Eunice Antone. Superstition Mountain -- Casa Grande ruin -- Bird song -- Man in the maze song -- Flood song -- Salvation song -- Ho'ok Pima watch song -- Malia -- Mary at the cross -- Owl song -- Song about the starts -- Oriole song -- Going home song. | Phoenix AZ: Canyon Records, p1978 | 1 sound disc, analog, 33 1/3 rpm, 12 in. | SWF 008: SWF 87.12/D.35] (12in.) | |
| Tzotzil and Tzeltal | Archive of American Folk Song. Recorded in the state of Chiapas, Mexico, 1945, by Henrietta Yurchenco. Son de San Juan (played on trumpet, reed flute, and drum by M. Pachitan and A. Perez) -- Son de Fiesta (played on trumpet, reed flute, and drum by S. Geron, A. Guzman, and M. Sandis) -- Son de carnaval -- Anucio de caverus de caballos (played on reed flute and drum by A. Arias and M. Lopez) -- Son de semana Santa (played on reed flute by M. de La Torre). | The Library of Congress Division of Music Recording Laboratory, [1945] | 1 sound disc, analog, 12 in. | SWF 007: SWF PRE1980.1/D.189 | |
| Yaqui music of the pascola and deer dance | Recorded live during the Tiniran Fiesta at Potam, Rio Yaqui, Sonora, Mexico. Performed by Jose Maria Hupahe, violin; Chito Matus, harp; Juan Maria Valencia, drum and flute; Juan Cruz Valencia, deer dancer; Reynaldo Romero Matus, Manuel Alvarez, Manuel Lucero, pascolas; Guadalupe Flores, Luis Aldamas, Luis A. Valenzuela, deer singers. Cogui Yeka (pic nose) -- San Martin Manuelito -- Ta'ka Cho'nim (body hair) -- Yoh'Hopoli (Mother night bird) -- Loretta cantorata -- Ten'ku Ba'nim -- Tene Woi Yueria -- Kuu'ta Wi'Kuii (sung by Maso Buik'reom) -- Puchilai -- W. Rum (Buzzard) -- Canoa Moelata Mavetacamel (old boat) -- Cuncum (doves)(sung by Maso Buik'roem) -- Sotohmoela (old earthen pot). | Phoenix, AZ: Canyon Records, 1973 | 1 sound disc, analog, 33 1/3 rpm, 12 in. | SWF 008: SWF 87.12/D.51 (12in.) | |
| Yaqui/Seri | Archive of American Folk Song. Recorded at Vicam, Sonora, Mexico, 1946, by Henrietta Yurchenco. Sung with accompaniment of notched sticks and water drum by L. Tapia and assistants: Baile del vanado - el tecolate -- Baile del vanado - el palo verde -- Recorded at Desemboque, Sonora, Mexico, 1944, by Henrietta Yurchenco: Cancion del marinero cansado (sung by Antonio Burgos) -- Cancion de dios (sung by Sara Villalobos) -- Cancion del curandero (sung by Jesus Ibarra). | The Library of Congress Division of Music Recording Laboratory, [1944, 1946] | 1 sound disc, analog, 12 in. | SWF 007: SWF PRE1980.1/D.186 | |
| The American Indians [musical group] | The American Indians play chicken scratch | Performed by Alex Gomez, sax Justin Francisco, sax John Manuel, accordion Clarence Flores, drums Celestine Flores, drums Jerry Flores, guitar Simon Cruz, bass guitar. Cactus song -- Coolidge two-step -- John special -- Come home tonight -- Pisinimo polka -- El capitan -- Palo verde stands -- Blackwater polka -- The sunset -- San Xavier polka -- Topawa two-step -- Desert polka. | Phoenix AZ: Canyon Records, p1974 | 1 sound disc, analog, 33 1/3 rpm, 12 in. | SWF 008: SWF 87.12/D.43 (12in.) |
| Enis, Mike | Chicken scratch | Chicken scratch - popular dance music of the Indians of Southern Arizona. Side 1 performed by El Conjunto Murrietta. Johnny Murrietta, accordion Danny Baltazar, drums Richard Murrietta, 12-string guitar Tony Flores, bass guitar. La Sanja (the ditch) -- El Caballito bronco (Little wild pony) -- y Canta tumbas (Tumblings) -- Lucila -- Side 2 performed by Mike Enis and Co. Michael A. Enis, Alto sax Eugene Enis, drums Ervin Garcia, bass guitar Santiago Bautista, rhythm guitar Marvin Enis, accordion. Mesquite polka -- Enis special -- Agnes polka -- Soy norteno -- Cholla polka -- O'dam-cho-the -- To-hono-polk. | Phoenix AZ: Canyon Records, p1972 | 1 sound disc, analog, 33 1/3 rpm, 12 in. | SWF 008: SWF 87.12/D.41 (12in.) |
| Enis, Mike | Mike Enis and Company: From San Xavier del Bac | Performed by Michael A. Enis, alto saxophone Ervin Garcia, bajo sexto Eugene Enis, bass guitar Marvin Enis, accordion Gerald Enis, drums. El hombre sin ley -- Flor morena -- Dos besitos -- Half-half -- Cumbia del sol -- Una noche serena y obscura -- Flores a mi morena -- El charrito -- El Naranja -- Anita -- Bennie. | Phoenix AZ: Canyon Records, p1975 | 1 sound disc, analog, 33 1/3 rpm, 12 in. | SWF 008: SWF 87.12/D.45 (12in.) |
| Gila River Six (Minus One) | Gila River Six (Minus One): Pima chicken scratch from the Gila River Indian Community | Virgil Jose, accordion; Johhnie Kisto, sax; Elvey Whitman, guitar; Guy Schurz, bass guitar; Leonard Harrison, drums. San tan waltz -- Aw-aw-thum waila -- Hay mi Yaquicita cumbia -- Papago chote -- American polka -- Colorado River polka -- Ambicion waila -- La mucura cumbia -- El gavilan chote -- Manzana waila -- J. C. chote -- Sabor a mi. | Phoenix AZ: Canyon Records, p1979 | 1 sound disc, analog, 33 1/3 rpm, 12 in. | SWF 008: SWF 87.12/D.50 (12in.) |
| Jose, Alex and his Hickiwan Band | [Selections] | Performed by Alex A. Jose, Saxophone Willie J. Francisco, accordion Lopiz Angea, guitar Arturo Flores, bass guitar James F. Angea, drums. La feria de las flores -- La palo millo -- La rosa -- Pecos Bill -- El Venadito -- Arte misia -- Jalisco, nunca -- Pierde -- Thumblina -- Aguila -- La suegra -- Mi roxie -- Los puentes -- Blue tangle. | Phoenix AZ: Canyon Records, p1975 | 1 sound disc, analog, 33 1/3 rpm, 12 in. | SWF 008: SWF 87.12/D.39 (12in.) |
| Jose y Alejo con el Conjunto Rio Yaqui | Soy puro norteño -- Mi nave | Soy puro norteño -- Mi nave. | Mexico: Discos Indio | 1 sound disc, analog, 45 rpm, 7 in. | SWF 008: SWF 95.18/D.39 |
| Kelly, Elvin los Reyes | Elvin Kelly y Los Reyes: More chicken scratch and other favorites | Performed by Elvin B. Kelly, lead sax Elmer Ray, sax Kenneth Antone, bass Harry John Ray, Jr., guitar Steve L. Kelly, drums. Las delicias -- La Llave -- Esperanza -- Saludos amigos -- Mirazon -- Las comaderita -- Mula bronca -- El Mezquiton -- Los reyes -- Sabor ami -- La tinajita -- La serrenita. S | Phoenix AZ: Canyon Records, p1974 | 1 sound disc, analog, 33 1/3 rpm, 12 in. | WF 008: SWF 87.12/D.42 (12in.) |
| Kelly, Elvin y los Reyes and the Molinas | Chicken scratch | Side 1 performed by Elvin Kelly y Los Reyes. Elvin B. Kelly, sax Steve R. Kelly, drums Kenneth Antone, bass guitar Elmer Ray, sax Harry J. Ray, guitar. Tengo mieto -- Tohono chote -- Buttermil -- Pisinimo chote -- Winston polka -- Hochude Waila lizard dance -- Side 2 performed by The Molinas. Virgil Ray Molina, Sr., saxophone Larry Molina, drums Leonard Pablo, bass Joe Miguel, sax and guitar Richard Garcia, accordion and guitar. Chen wen wen wen chona -- La Zapateada -- Ester -- La pipla -- El gallo -- Ojos peludo. | Phoenix AZ: Canyon Records, p1972 | 1 sound disc, analog, 33 1/3 rpm, 12 in. | SWF 008: SWF 87.12/D.40 (12in.) |
| Molina, Francisco and Marcelino Valencia | Yaqui Pascola music of Arizona | Performed by Francisco Molina, violin Marcelino Valencia, harp. Kanariom (canary - opening song) -- Savali Wikichin (yellow bird) -- San Javielpo Chu kuy Kawai (Black mountain in San Xavier) -- San Augustine -- Chepa Mochi [k] Kawi (Josephine/Turtle Mountain) -- Tako Siu'te, Mali Juana -- Hamut Buanim (Woman's cry) -- Sabalat Sika, Cominkot Yepsak (Left Saturday, returned Sunday) -- Vino Huk tium (Choked on wine) -- Kanoriom (Farewell song). | Phoenix AZ: Canyon Records, p1980 | 1 sound disc, analog, 33 1/3 rpm, 12 in. | SWF 008: SWF 87.12/D.38 (12in.) |
| Molina, Virgil | Scratch encores with Virgil Molina | Performed by Virgil R. Molina, Sr., alto sax and vocals Larry A. Molina, drums Richard Garcia, accordion Leonard W. Enos, guitar Ruben Orduno, bass. Goodyear polka -- Bootlegger polka -- Good for nothing -- Casa blanca choti -- La bamba -- Flor morena -- Rosa Maria -- Pioneer polka -- El sube y baja -- Crei -- San tan choti. | Phoenix AZ: Canyon Records, p1977 | 1 sound disc, analog, 33 1/3 rpm, 12 in. | SWF 008: SWF 87.12/D.46 (12in.) |
| The Molinas | The Molinas: Super scratch kings | Performed by Virgil R. Molina, Sr., alto sax and vocals Larry A. Molina, drums Richard Garcia, accordion Leonard W. Enos, guitar Ruben Orduno, bass. Oik, oik, oik -- Rufalina --- Old man rooster -- Dawn mazurka -- Rapsodia -- Sueca -- Piedras negras -- Open up your heart -- Garcia's -- #1 Pacula -- There she goes -- Guess who -- Everybody's song -- El reloj. | Phoenix AZ: Canyon Records, p1975 | 1 sound disc, analog, 33 1/3 rpm, 12 in. | SWF 008: SWF 87.12/D.44 (12in.) |
| Otomi of Honey, Puebla and Zapotec of Teotitlan, Oaxaca | [Folk music - Mexico. Selections] | Recorded by Laura Boulton. Side 1: Performed by Otomi of Honey, Puebla. Flying pole dance (flute, drum, rattle) -- Performed by Zapotec of Teotitlan, Oaxaca. Fireworks music (chirimia and drum). | Camden, NJ: RCA Victor, copyright by L.C. Boulton | 1 sound disc, analog, 78 rpm, 10 in. | SWF 008: SWF 86.33/D.1 (10in.) |
| Richards, Amos and his group | Songs from the Pima | Amos Richards, leader Josiah King, David Lewis, Jeannette King, Elizabeth Garcia, Lydia Richards. Evening song -- Blue swallows -- Camelback Mountain song -- Papago Park Mountain -- Tempe Butte -- South Mountain bird -- Komatke Mountain song -- Blue humming bird -- Rainbow song -- Superstition Mountain song. | Phoenix AZ: Canyon Records, c1970 | 1 sound disc, analog, 33 1/3 rpm, 12 in. | SWF 008: SWF 87.12/D.36 (12in.) |
| Rios, Frank | [Pre-1980 Folk music. Selections] | Music by Frank Rios: Adelita -- Valentino -- Soldado de Levita -- Collector: Vicente S. Acosta | Tucson, AZ, March 19, 1947 | 1 sound disc, analog, 78 rpm, 12 in. | SWF 007: SWF PRE1980.1/D.5 |
| Rios, Frank | [Pre-1980 Folk music. Selections] | Intro[duction] -- Nosotros (Frank Rios) -- La Mileguena (Frank Rios) -- Collector: Vicente S. Acosta | Tucson, AZ, March 19, 1947 | 1 sound disc, analog, 78 rpm, 12 in. | SWF 007: SWF PRE1980.1/D.6 |
| Rios, Frank | [Pre-1980 Folk music. Selections] | Music by Frank Rios: Azatón [El Azoton] -- Dicen por ai [Dicen por alli] -- Serenata -- Collector: Vicente S. Acosta | Tucson, AZ, March 19, 1947 | 1 sound disc, analog, 78 rpm, 12 in. | SWF 007: SWF PRE1980.1/D.2 |
| Yaqui of Tlaxcala, Puebla | [Folk music - Mexico. Selections] | Recorded by Laura Boulton. Pascolas (Flute and drum) -- Matachines (Harp, fiddle and stamping). | Camden, NJ: RCA Victor, copyright by L.C. Boulton | 1 sound disc, analog, 78 rpm, 10 in. | SWF 008: SWF 86.33/D.1 (10in.) |
| Yaqui of Tlaxcala, Puebla | [Folk music - Mexico. Selections] | Performed by Yaqui of Tlaxcala, Puebla. Recorded by Laura Boulton. Deer dance (Notched sticks, rattles, water drum, dog and singer) -- Pascolas (Flute, drum and bells). | Camden, NJ: RCA Victor, copyright by L.C. Boulton | 1 sound disc, analog, 78 rpm, 10 in. | SWF 008: SWF 86.33/D.1 (10in.) |
| Yaqui of Tlaxcala, Puebla | [Folk music - Mexico. Selections] | Performed by Yaqui of Tlaxcala, Puebla. Recorded by Laura Boulton. Deer dance (Notched sticks, rattles, water drum, and singer) -- Pascolas (Harp, fiddle, bells, rattles, water drum and singer). | Camden, NJ: RCA Victor, copyright by L.C. Boulton | 1 sound disc, analog, 78 rpm, 10 in. | SWF 008: SWF 86.33/D.1 (10in.) |
|
Media
Collection: Videos: Documentaries and Interviews
| Videos: Feature Films | Sound
recordings | 16mm films HOME | Mexican-American Studies Subject Guide | SABIO Information Gateway (UA Library) |
Created by Ninfa
Trejo and Lisa Waite Bunker,
Social Sciences Librarians. Maintained by Ninfa
Trejo.
Last updated June 24, 2002
Copyright ©2002 Arizona Board of Regents. All rights reserved.