16mm Films for Mexican-American Studies
at the University of Arizona Library

 

 

Media Collection: Videos: Documentaries and Interviews | Videos: Feature Films | Sound recordings | 16mm films
Southwest Folklore Collection: Spoken Recordings | Music: Indians of Mexico | Music: Collections | Music: Mexican
HOME

Our 16mm film collection is located on floor 1C, in the Compact Shelving

 

16mm Films: Title and Summary Call Number
Cajititlán. [S.l.]: Harry Atwood, 1966.
Depicts two days in the life of three villages around Lake Cajititlán in west central Mexico, from fishing at dawn on Saturday to Mass and fiesta on Sunday afternoon. Shows facets of an ancient, but now changing, way of life. (41 min.)
Media Film D-11,618
Chicano Park. Berkeley, CA: Redbird Films, 1988.
Traces the history of the Mexican-American community in San Diego, from its creation around 1900, through its peak in the late 1920s and its near extinction in the 1950s and 1960s, to its revitalization in the 1970s. Shows the process through which residents effect positive change in their lives and community by using the richness of their cultural heritage to educate themselves to gain political power. 1 film reel (58 min.)
Media Film E-14,207
Chulas Fronteras. El Cerrito, CA: Brazos Films, 198-?, ©1976.
Features the music and culture of Mexican-Americans living in southern Texas, showing food preparation, family life, dances, fieldwork, and other social activities. 1 film reel (58 min.)
Media Film E-13,652
Hispanic America. New York: CBS News, ©1980.
Examines America's diverse Hispanic population and its impact on the nation's politics and economics. 1 film reel (ca. 13 min.)
Media Film B-12,190
How's School, Enrique? [S.l.]: Frager Productions, 1970.
A documentary film which depicts some of the educational and environmental problems that are faced by Mexican-American youth. 1 film reel (18 min.)
Media Film B-10,867
I am Joaquin. [S.l.]: El Teatro Campesino, released by George Ballis Associates, 1970.
A dramatization of the Chicano poem of the same title by Corky Gonzales about the Mexican-American experience from Cortes to the current farm workers' struggle, emphasizing the problems of suppressed Mexicans. Narrated by Luis Valdez. (20 min.)
Media Film B-10,890
The Lemon Grove Incident. New York: Cinema Guild, 1985.
Focusing on one of the earliest school desegregation cases, uses dramatizations, archival footage, and recollections of witnesses to examine the response of the Mexican-American community in Lemon Grove, Calif., to a 1930 school board attempt to create a segregated Mexican school in the district. 1 film reel (58 min.)
Media Film E-13,276
Mexican Americans: The Invisible Minority. Bloomington: PBL/NET, 1969.
Describes the struggle of Mexican-Americans for an identity within the protest movement, discussing their economic poverty, their employment as unskilled laborers, and their education in a system designed for white English-speaking students. 2 film reels (38 min.)
Media Film E-7269
A Mexican War Diary (1846). Chicago: Coronet Instructional Films, 1966.
A personal account of a young soldier's military and romantic exploits, illustrated with watercolors from the original manuscript, and including folk songs of the war. 1 film reel (14 min., 16 mm.) + guide
Media Film B-5326
Mexico: Sun and Silver. Tucson, AZ: University of Arizona Audiovisual Bureau, 1973.
A visual feast and a study of Mexico's culture is presented by this film. Three cities are visited; Mexico City, the oldest city in the western himisphere; Taxco, a colonial and silver mining center; and romantic Acapulco. 1 film reel (29 min.)
Media Film D-12,731
Mexico: The Frozen Revolution. [S.l.]: William Susman; released in the U.S. by Tricontinental Film Center, 1971.
Portrays Mexico's state of underdevelopment, covering the years from 1910 to the 1970's. (60 min.) 16 mm.
Media Film E-11,453
Mexico's History. [S.l.]: Coronet Instructional Films. 1969.
Traces the history of Mexico from the pre-European times to the present, emphasizing the major periods and trends. 1 film reel (16 min); 16 mm.
Media Film B-9891
Sentinels of Silence. Mexico City: Producciones Concord, 1973.
Aerial views of seven archeological sites in Mexico. Shows stone palaces, deserted temples, pyramid mounds, and elaborate carvings. 1 film reel (19 min.); 16 mm. + guide
Media Film B-11,415
Viridiana. [S.l.]: NCS [distributor], 1961.
Feature film by Luis Buñuel. Story of a young lady about to take final vows in a convent but becomes involved in setting up a refuge for society's outcasts. She finds out that she cannot save any lost souls through prayer and charity. A satire on religion and society. English subtitles. (90 min.)
Media Film F-11,847
Viva Mexico: a Cultural Portrait. New York: McGraw-Hill Films, 1970.
Describes the blend of modern, Indian and Spanish cultures in Mexico. Shows views of Acapulco, Mexico City and various off-beat retreats during fiesta time. Includes archeological sequences of a visit to the new National Museum of Anthropology. 1 film reel (28 min.) 16 mm.
Media Film D-10,644
Yo Soy Chicano. Los Angeles: KCET, 1972.
Portrays the Chicano experience, from its roots in pre-Columbian history to the present, by dramatically recreating key events in Mexican history and by presenting interviews with Chicano leaders, Dolores Huerta, Reies Lopez Tijerina, Rodolfo Gonzalez, and Jose Angel Gutierrez, who discuss solutions to the oppression of Chicanos. (59 min.)
Media Film D-11,022

 

Media Collection: Videos: Documentaries and Interviews | Videos: Feature Films | Sound recordings | 16mm films
Southwest Folklore Collection: Spoken Recordings | Music: Indians of Mexico | Music: Collections | Music: Mexican

HOME | Mexican-American Studies Subject Guide | SABIO Information Gateway (UA Library)

 

Created by Ninfa Trejo and Lisa Waite Bunker, Social Sciences Librarians. Maintained by Ninfa Trejo.
Last updated June 24, 2002

Copyright ©2002 Arizona Board of Regents. All rights reserved.