The University of Arizona Library
Research by SUBJECT

Anthropology And Archaeology
New Graduate Student Orientation 2004 Presentation:  click here

Anthropology Colloquium, Spring 2005:
The annotated bibliography as a research tool in cultural anthropology and sociology (applied and basic)

Background Information
Finding Articles Facts & Figures
People & Organizations Web Resources Further Research Course Home Pages & Course Reserves

The following is a selected list of resources in Anthropology and Archaeology. For further assistance,

make an appointment with Olivia Olivares, olivareso@u.library.arizona.edu or
Sara Heitshu, heitshus@u.library.arizona.edu
heitshus@u.library.arizona.edu


Background Information (Encyclopedias, Handbooks, and Citation Guides)

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences (Available only to UA students, faculty and staff)
Available through ScienceDirect.  May require a separate logon. Also available at H41 I58 2001 Main Ref.

Encyclopaedia Britannica (Available only to UA students, faculty, and staff)
Concise as well as scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects.

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Evolution - GN281 .C345 1992 Main Ref.
Covers the subject from archaeology to zoology, genetics to linguistics.

Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology - GN307 .E52 1996 Main Ref.
The compendium of knowledge relevant to cultural anthropology with some coverage of linguistics, biological anthropology, and archaeology.

Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory - GN281 .E53 1988 Main Ref.
A good one volume work on the science of paleoanthropology.

Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology - GN307 .E527 Main Ref.
Broad coverage of contemporary social and cultural anthropological issues.

Encyclopedia of World Cultures - GN550 .E53 1991 Main Ref.
Comprehensive and authoritative descriptions of all of the cultures in each region of the world.

History of Physical Anthropology: An Encyclopedia - GN50.3 .H57 1997 Main Ref.
Good coverage of the field, including biographical sketches.

Larousse Encyclopedia of Archaeology - CC281 .C4313 Main Ref.
A good one volume work outlining the discipline of archaeology.

Oxford Companion to Archaeology - CC70.9 .H57 1996 Main Ref.
A global assessment of archaeology's achievements, scientists' reconstruction of the past, and archaeologists' contributions to society.

Abstracts in Anthropology - GN1 .A15 Main Ref. (Index shelves)
Covers a broad spectrum of significant, current anthropological topics from several hundred periodicals.

Citation Guides for Electronic Documents
 
 
 

^ back to top
Finding Articles(Indexes, Journals)

MOST IMPORTANT:

Anthropology Plus
Anthropology, archaeology and cultural studies. Prepared by the Tozzer Library at Harvard University combined with the Anthropology Index from the Royal Antlhropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland. Harvard index also available in paper at GN1 .A58 Main Ref. (Index shelves).

HRAF (Human Relations Area Files)
Compiles and indexes materials from ethnographic and other texts.
 

FULL-TEXT JOURNAL COLLECTIONS, INCLUDING ANTHROPOLOGY JOURNALS:

JSTOR
Click here for a list of journals in Anthropology. 
Click here for Archaeology journals.

Project Muse
Click here for a list of all Project Muse journals, including Anthropology journals.

Kluwer
Click herefor a list of all journals, then choose "Browse titles by subject."  Choose "Social Sciences", then "Anthropology" or "Archaeology".
 

ADDITIONAL DATABASES:

Sociological Abstracts
Sociology, family issues, and related disciplines.

Contemporary Women's Issues
Full text of journal articles, newsletters and reports on current women's issues.

Academic Search Premier
Multidisciplinary database that includes some full text articles.

AREA STUDIES:

Ethnic Newswatch
Full text coverage from ethnic & minority newspapers and magazines.

HAPI-Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Includes Latin American anthropology and archaeology.

Bibliography of Native North Americans
Includes citations to articles on anthropology and archaeology of Amerinds of Canada, the United States and northern Mexico.

 

^ back to top
Facts and Figures

Collins Dictionary of Archaeology - CC70 .C55 199 2 Main Ref.
A collection of short, useful definitions of terms and names in the field of archaeology.

Dictionary of Concepts in Cultural Anthropology - GN307 .W56 1991 Main Ref.
A dictionary of concepts, a compilation of key ideas-not a technical lexicon.

Dictionary of Concepts in Physical Anthropology - GN50.3 .S74 1991 Main Ref.
The key concepts in physical anthropology.

Historical Dictionary of North American Archaeology - E77.9 .H57 1988 Main Ref.
A source of basic information on the major prehistoric cultures, archaeological sites, and artifact types of North America.

^ back to top

People and Organizations

American Anthropological Association Guide - GN43.A2 .G84 1997-98 Main Ref.
A guide to research firms, government agencies, museums and academic departments and a directory of members.

International Dictionary of Anthropologists - GN20 .I5 1991 Main Ref.
Biographical coverage of social and cultural anthropology, physical and biological anthropology, folklore and some branches of linguistics--also includes some coverage of travelers, missionaries, and others who contributed to the field of anthropology.

Anthropology Biography Web
Developed by Students at Minnesota State University, Mankato as part of the their EMUSEUM project. Covers anthropologists and people influence in the disciple. Covers 19th and 20th century.

^ back to top
Web Resources

Arizona State Museum Library
The ASM Library is a non-circulating research facility specializing in the archaeology and anthropology of the southwestern United States and northern Mexico. Because the Library's collection development policy supports the mission of the Museum, the collections are particularly rich in resources on southwestern indigenous cultures.

Arizona State Historical Society
AHS Library/Archives actively collects manuscripts, photographs, oral histories, books and other materials that help document the history of Arizona, the West and Northern Mexico. The collections are available for research and are non-circulating.

Anthropology Videos and Films
An alphabetical list of videos, films and sound recordings in the collection of the UA Library. This list includes all of the videos listed on the old South American Indians list; however, for a complete list of videos on North American Indians, please see the next link below.

North American Indians: Films and Videos
An alphabetical list of films and videos owned by the UA Library. For videos and films on South American Indians, see the
Anthropology Videos and Films list, above.

American Indians: Microforms in the UA Library
An alphabetical list of American Indian materials in microform owned by the UA Library.

Anthropology Sites on the Internet
A guide to anthropology web sites.

American Indian Sites on the Web
A selection of web sites related to American Indians

UA Department of Anthropology

UA American Indian Studies Program
 
 

^ back to top
Further Research

RIO: Research Instruction Online Using Sabio, Database Basics, Finding Articles, How to Search the Web, UA Computing e-mail

^ back to top

Course home pages and electronic reserves

Stalking the Wily Ethnography - Interactive Library Tutorials

ANTH 202- Applying Anthropology in a Global Context
Profs. Drexel Woodson and Mamadou Baro, Spring 2005

INDV 102 - Many Ways of Being Human: Leah Mundell Fall 2004

Previous Classes:

TRAD 101- Patterns in Prehistory (Prof. Bollong)

Connect to Library Reserves Page

^ back to top

Catalogs of BOOKS, etc. | Indexes to ARTICLES | WEB SEARCH | REFERENCE Materials |
Multi-SEARCH | Research by SUBJECT

UA Library Home

Maintained by Olivia Olivares, Social Sciences Librarian
Last Updated: 9 July 2004